Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Viking Runner

by Frump - Jam Entry

Unfinished. Some missing assets and bugs but quite playable.

Collect Yggdrasil coins to travel between the worlds of Norse mythology. Or simply die.

Everything in the game is 100% mythologically, historically and factually accurate.

Running into walls will instantly knock you to a lower world. Vikings like sharks can not stop moving forward and can't reverse. Also no one likes to stub their toe, not even Vikings.

Controls:
Jump - Z/W/up
Attack - X/Z/right

Personal High Score:
89676
1849m

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#277Humor(Jam)2.67
#333Graphics(Jam)3.51
#372Fun(Jam)3.05
#399Theme(Jam)3.14
#494Overall(Jam)3.05
#531Mood(Jam)2.82
#667Innovation(Jam)2.38

Comments

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20am

I like the visual theme. Also adding the melee attack provides some variety to gameplay. Hit detection seems a bit off, sometimes I wasn't sure why I died.

se1by says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:54am

Nice game, but seems a bit too fast at the beginning.
Maybe start with less speed and increase it?

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59am

Nice graphics! Proper theme usage. Maybe too fast on start.

aneeslol says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07am

Neat idea using the worlds as sort of a lives mechanic, and it was pretty fun once I got the hang of it.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:08am

Game looks fantastic but I seem to hit a lot of walls, not sure if I'm just really bad or if you could maybe make gravity a bit heavier.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:11am

Nice and fun. Asgard is very pretty.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10am

Too bad it's not finished, it's looking quite nice and I like the idea of swapping between the 3 worlds based on how well you play.

Ramori says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Good idea, graphics are really nice (Asgard looks great). Collision detection seems a bit off, but you can't polish everything in such a short time. Good work!

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice viking sprite. Its a little bit unforgiving on the jumping. If you press just before you land it wont jump. Fun game!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I have no idea what exactly what going on but I loved every minute of it.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:24pm

nice little runner :)

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34am

Loved the world switching mechanic - very cool. My best was 44766, 923m. Great job!

barryrowe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00am

I like this. I think it starts lagging a bit after a while in the browser, but the game is fun and the mechanics are good!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24am

Making the enemies go flying was quite satisfying. Graphics looked good. Pretty tight jumping controls. It's a shame that it wasn't more complete.

grifdail says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41am

The jump really annoy me: Especialy the fact that you can't really control it and that, most of the time, you dont have enough room to jump right after landing.

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Waw, cool game! Well done

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Interesting idea for an endless runner! Good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:51am

Hi there. Nice look, shame no sound. Found the early part too harsh, probably better to be generous on landing detection for platform incompetents like me! Good job!

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Cool to see another viking game entry. Nice mechanics, and twist on runner/jumper games. I thought the jumping could be improved somehow: it felt that I had no enough control over things. Not sure if double-jumping could have helped?

I liked this one a lot. Good job.

If I click ESC I go to Asgård? :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I like the look and feel of the graphics and the game itself was pretty fun. It just needs a bit more balance and polish, but it certainly had a large element of "one more go." Good effort.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:44am

Love the graphics, nice fun little game. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]