Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blind Link

by BobMorate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Our two protagonists are trapped within each others world. Guide them to safety! Both characters will move at the same time unless one of them is dead or waiting at the goal. Beware of spikes and endless pits!



*Controls*

Left & Right arrow keys - Move the characters left and right.

Up - Make both characters jump

C - Change point of view between characters.

R - Restart level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2027Coolness17%

Comments

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04am

The Installer just ends without installing. Could you do a package without installer?

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Keep up good work Bob!

BobMorate says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20am

The installer did work for me, but I will check tonight see if I can upload another executable without installing version :)

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:46am

couldn't get it to install either. I'll try again later

BobMorate says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:00am

Seeing how many people were having problems with the installer, I've exported a single-run executable and uploaded it instead. The game is exactly the same, no changes have been made, so please try again and don't hesitate to let me know if there are any more problems :)
Thanks for the feedback!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:31am

I really don't like the main mechanic. You're asking the playing to play blind, which is definitelly not a good experience imho.

bobombe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:33am

Interesting concept, I enjoyed playing it :)

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Like the gameplay mechanic of controlling 2 but only seeing one, makes it extra difficult but still fun. However there were times where it was frustrating that I could only edge forward slightly in each level in fear of the other guy dying, but despite that, still a good game, well done.

BobMorate says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Thank you all for taking your time and leaving your feedback (both good and bad!) It's very helpful! :)

bob_fish says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:51am

Loved the music and art! Also really cool with how you had to remember where each person was. Overall great job!

Aglavra says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I liked the graphics and audio, but the gameplay itself gets frustrating... I would like to see traces of previous attempts, to avoid repeating mistakes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]