Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The IT Support

by EpiphanyG - Jam Entry

I tried to enter the compo with a Construct 2 game but was a little over ambitious.

Here is a Twine game instead. I hope you enjoy. :)

P.s. This is my first game with Twine, I really enjoyed using it and intend to explore it further in the future. This game is a bit raw.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Theme(Jam)3.67
#289Fun(Jam)3.20
#414Overall(Jam)3.18
#2075Coolness14%

Comments

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I always like Twine games, because I like a good story.

I play a lot of Ace Attorney so I expected things to be explained in a cool plot-twisty way at the end. As such, the ending was a little disappointing. Ah well, my standareds are probably just too high.

EpiphanyG says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Thanks for the feedback xgeovanni! This was my first game with Twine, I certainly intend to plan out more interesting twists in future games.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:28am

Is Sarah okay?

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Yeah, the ending felt like a bit of an anti-climax, sorry. But I loved the build-up before that. I was fascinated to know what was happening to Sarah and the game completely subverted my expectations. (I was prepared for it to be standard day-in-the-life of an IT support guy.)

EpiphanyG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

@dickpoelen Yes, she's fine. I think I need to write a sequel at some point. ;)

@Snoother Thanks for the feedback! Yes the ending was very anti-climactic sadly. I wrote it last night and got very very tired by that point.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28pm

It started off quite interesting, but the end was indeed a bit sudden and anti-climatic XD left me curious wanting to know more.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Very cool, well put together, and bonus points for using Twine! I really enjoyed the story!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Really enjoyed this. Managed to get the "correct" ending as well after a few play throughs. Loved the humour in this :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Entertaining read, and I hit the correct ending on the first go :) Really enjoyed the writing style - had a Douglas Adams vibe to it.

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Innovation++
Mood++
Well done.

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Of course I closed email, I'm in IT! Okay, on second run I didn't, but it led me to all kinds of multi-dimensional issues...

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

A bit short.
But the meta angle was fun!

ajopart says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:06am

Short but intense. Nice story !

nesis says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:44am

First Twine game I've played. It's a nice concept... good writing, somewhat serendipitous storylines! :)

oranebeast says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:43am

It feels like I'm playing a game of the it crowd, but actually on task and spacey. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]