Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetarium

by Rasmus Dyhr Larsen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi. I made this game with planets in it. It's pretty fun. I'll probably make post-combo version later, because this one kinda lacks content and goal.

Anyway, there's one portal on each planet. To activate the portal you need gems. A combination of three gems will take you to a different planet with that specific combination. If you don't leave your planet it will eventually implode and you will die. Have fun!

Controls:
WASD, Move
Mouse, Look
Space, Jump
Left Mouse, Shoot
Right Mouse, Activate Portal

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#559Innovation3.15
#688Graphics2.90
#748Audio2.32
#830Fun2.72
#864Mood2.63
#897Overall2.85
#897Theme2.70
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

uberscientist says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:11am

This was very similar to what I was planning to make at first! Except islands instead of planets and no implosions.

TheGeekatory says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:41pm

FYI: Google Chrome claims this file is malicious. Had to use Firefox.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40pm

I have now fixed the problem with Chrome

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I like the idea, although I found it a little confusing as to why I died. I guess it is on a timer? Perhaps having a little life-bar or time limit would give the player more feedback. I like the idea of floating around in this pleasant space.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:30pm

I liked the uncertainty of when my planet was going to implode. Good concept! Good luck!

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I liked the sphere physics, although it was a bit bumpy. good work :)

Muush says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I just liked the overall feeling. Good work.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Decent entry, though at the beginning perspective was set in a way that I couldn't see the planet I'm on. Also, I couldn't find the portal neither on the first nor second attempt. :<

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Could use some more work =/

torvik88 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice game but sometimes the terain would sissapear and i found out that hiting space long enough i can bypass lots of enemies so they never represented any threat. Nice work though for the compo.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]