Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connecting Worlds.

by Damian Schloter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Alright I made it. This still needs a lot of tweaking though. Oh well...

So this is a space game. You're an intergalactic postman. The asteroid field and objective positions are randomized each time.
The asteroids have gravity, so watch out!

It's not as special as I had hoped, but I think it's an alright space game. Enjoy

Controls:
Mouse for pitch and yaw, A/D for roll. Left mouse button for thrust, left+right mouse button for more thrust. Middle mouse button to look around. F1 to restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#64Graphics4.14
#174Mood3.48
#199Humor3.02
#290Audio3.18
#297Overall3.47
#578Fun3.02
#662Theme3.12
#704Innovation2.97

Comments

PiratePants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58am

wow very nice and polished great textures too

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26am

How do you service the relay station?

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27am

Great visuals. This is one of the best-looking Ludum Dare games I've seen.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

Really like the voiceover at the beginning. Great idea to set the tone.

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

Logistics really is connection...

I really loved the graphics and the audio, nice job!

Fernando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31am

"there goes another one" hahaha

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

Great graphics and animations! Love the voice over too.

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33am

Looks awesome :D Really hard to control though :/

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

Art style was good. Voiceover was great. Finding the relays was a bit of a pain, but overall an excellent submission for 48h. Nicely done.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08am

This game looks like, with lots of work, it can be something great. It was really difficult to control. Am I supposed to ram into those flashing lights? I couldn't figure it out honestly. I enjoyed the artwork.

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

Well it was fun but I have to be honest, there is no chance I would ever manage to dock at 5 of those relay stations. I kept getting stuck on asteroids and overshooting the relays, at one point I got stuck in a grav field only to get sling-shotted waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay far away, like so far I would have ran out of fuel before I got back lol.

But, it felt great to dock at one relay station, and IMO, that's where the game should have ended :P Great art direction, it's highly stylized and looks wonderful. Great entry!

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35am

I docked at one! Love it, but I need a radar or something to point me to the next station.

Ramperkash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42am

I really like the look of the game. In terms of gameplay, it's a bit frustrating how you have to counteract the gravitational forces, since you can only propel yourself forwards.

mechabit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Fun game, controls took a bit of learning but actually watching your trail helps in braking and avoiding gravity wells. The only thing I would say is make it impossible to get stuck on an asteroid as that's really annoying. Either cap the max gravity force to something lower than your max thrust or give you an after burner (burn x4 more fuel for 2x more thrust) to give you the extra thrust needed to escape a gravity well.

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Nice, the controls were cool and the graphics were well done
Though the game isn't hard enough I think

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Artwork is great. Really cool atmosphere

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Ohh, this is lovely! Love the graphics :)

WeaselZone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Hahaha "there goes another one". Really, really enjoyed this little game!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

I love the thrust trace :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I love everything about this game! Physics is challenging, intergalactic van is lovely and it all looks really amazing!:D

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

great visuals, good sound. fun to move around but I started to get very uncomfortable fighting gravity wells. Good job

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28pm

This is awesome graphics... super responsive flight mechanics... like the idea too.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

I like the trails, textures and voice in the beginning :)

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Funny ship! Fake physiсs, of course, but, it is here more than ever there is a good freedom of movement in space. Nice cartoon art too.

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:09am

Pretty cool graphic design. Also it fells kinda particular to fly in outher space like that!
Good job!

zapaman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:05am

Loved it! Both the art style and the fact that you need to thrust in the opposite direction of your moving vector to stop!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

graphics and audio were really good. maybe I was tired but I could not figure out the controls. it must be me. nice job.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

It is a bit frustrating at times wit all the asteroids.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

gorgeous in every way

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Very nice gameplay. It works very well and It's a pleasure to navigate through the meteors field. I couldn't manage to find the 4th relay, yet I had plenty of fuel, health and O2, but just didn't find it! Congrats.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Very nice gameplay. It works very well and It's a pleasure to navigate through the meteors field. I couldn't manage to find the 4th relay, yet I had plenty of fuel, health and O2, but just didn't find it! Congrats. P.s : very funny voice acting at the beginning :)

Natman says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:25am

I just want to say I followed you on Twitter after I played Double Hitler. That game is HILARIOUS. Great work.

I really enjoyed the disorienting challenge of your entry, for the most part. Maneuvering the ship through the asteroid field and into the relays was pretty fun, once I knew where they were, but FINDING the relays was sometimes a little tedious, especially with little clues as to their general locations, and the confusion of distinguishing between relays I'd already serviced and new relays.

Also, at one point I got stuck in the gravity of an asteroid because I forgot I could double the ship's thrust. (I realized this after dying and restarting.) My fault, maybe, but I thought I'd mention it.

Great visuals, pretty good audio, and clever voice-over. Very impressive work, overall.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Amazing game. Simple and fun. Loved your textures and the voice-over. Thank you for this :)

howkj1 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:54pm

This is great! Its like Homeworld meets USPS! I wish I could repair the ship somewhere on top of the refueling. Otherwise, that was fun!

Artamus says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Nice game, congrats!

PriorBlue says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Great 3D art style, the boost particle effect is funny. :)

sephyka says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I really like this kind of entry. Simple but great mood, it's very pleasant to move with the ship in the space. I really like simple 3D graphics. Great mood!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Psstt... you are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4uYyKDjxG8

Teesquared says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Hard but it keeps you playing. Looks great and audio fits perfectly. Good job.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

Awesome graphics, cool game. Good job!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Controls were pretty hard (it was really difficult trying to dock into the station) but the voiceover was absolutely amazing (Made the gameplay more immerse I say).

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:28am

I really enjoyed the flight mechanics - challenging but very fun! Nice work Damian.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:11am

I liked the graphics

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]