Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star Fuel

by riv_roy - Jam Entry

The homeworld has been captured, break the chains that bind it.





Destroy the enemy structures.

Controls:

Mouse : Ship navigation
Spacebar : Boost ship speed
Left Mouse Button : Fire


Made by:

Tim Rurkowski twitter: @Trurkowski
Mark Swick twitter: @riv_roy


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#186Fun(Jam)3.39
#222Audio(Jam)3.40
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#247Graphics(Jam)3.71
#330Mood(Jam)3.18
#436Theme(Jam)3.05
#498Humor(Jam)2.11
#568Innovation(Jam)2.71

Comments

Magdev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48pm

very big fun world to fly around in, only complaint is that the mouse doesnt stick in the player! I think that would make it more fun :)

schizokoa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59pm

The chained flying round thingy made me think of good old Sonic CD opening scene.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:20am

this was super cool! i loved the feeling of flying around, and the mechanic of the lasers was perfect in my opinion; you hear a sound so you know its firing, and it will always try to shoot in your path so you are still able to avoid it (unless coming from directly infront/behind you, which shouldnt happen because you should fly towards them anyway)
I didnt beat it because i died and got too frustrated to continue, but it was still super good! nice job

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:46am

The visual impact of those giant chains is delightful.
Nice design.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:54am

Very cool game and nice ideas. Nice gameplay too. I really like the world attached by giant chains. I wish I had a little more patience to beat it. But I would get so far then die and have to start over.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:58am

Pretty cool, the ship controls are intuitive and simple.
The game does get repetitive fast; the bullets don't do enough damage, so you have to keep circling around to shoot the buildings. A missile attack would be cool for this.
The turrets were cool, dodging the beams was top notch ;). I wish I could destroy them, though.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:29am

The game looks great, and feels very fluid. Good controls and excellent sound effects and music. The difficult is too much though, instantly destroy by those lasers with those turrets all over was just too much for me to beat the game. The chains tied to the homeworld are visually impressive and really made the game stand out.

radmars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44am

Nice! This is really fun. Pretty unforgiving though, would be good to have more warning for the enemy lasers or maybe a health bar. Gamepad controls would be amazing for this too. Nice work!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:05am

Really liked this game nice graphics and smooth controls :)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

Fun to play. Nice flying controls. Original theme implementation.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

it feels very fluid and intuitive, nice work!

CoolIron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Great job! Nice game, but a bit difficult :)
Still lasers mechanic is great!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Epic scene, as I looked up for the first time I was stuck by the immense size of the world and those chains are(were hehe) awesome :D

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Wow that was awesome... thanks for making it!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Nice game! Very fun to move around. Really liked how the way the ship accelerate when you press space. GG!

lotusgame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:22am

Really nice game with cool graphics and music ! I enjoy the good sense of flying ! Too bad lasers are merely impossible to avoid. They come from nowhere and destroy you. You should implement the fact lasers are ineffective the fist second, so you can try to escape. Bravo :)

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:34am

What a gorgeous little world you made! Nice work! This game is a joy to play, especially given how open it is; between using the buildings scattered about for target practice and boosting around the large and varied landscape, there's plenty of fun to be had here even before starting to tackle the game's main objective. Other than the non-sticky mouse controls, maneuvering the ship is a breeze and just flying around is quite enjoyable, especially with the perspective-warping boost ability! Nice usage of that camera effect there. The only big problem I had with movement is the camera's tendency to remain tilted after the ship turns for a while, but that's something I'm willing to forgive given how well everything else works.

The visuals are *very* nice, and the one piece of UI there is--the 3D crosshairs--do a great job of letting the player know exactly where the ship & its bullets are headed. Most importantly, the sound design in this game is incredible! I played it with headphones on and I was impressed by the attention to stereo sound, and how well it made me aware of the direction of oncoming fire. Speaking of fire, the little warning alarm that sounds right before a laser is shot is just great, as it's timed just right so as to actually be a good warning. The fact that lasers are also always aimed a tiny bit ahead of the ship is also great, they provide a threat while providing ample time to be avoided by pure reaction.

Some other minor issues, though, are 1) that targets probably need a bit too much fire before being destroyed, and 2) once a few turrets are destroyed there isn't much of a challenge left. Maybe if the turrets were easier to destroy but respawned after a while, the game would feel a bit more balanced. But overall, nice job! I had fun with this one.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Nice game here

Good:
* Smooth mouse controls, I really felt flying in this alien thing.
* No history, not much background but it's fun to play and that is what matters.
* Amazing sounds, ok music
* Theme used in nice way

Bad:
* Little detail: Personally, I guess Unity's default skybox should be avoided in ludum dare entries. It's the same reason about using too much asset store components. In the end one can't see what is from author and what not. Again, in the case of Star Duel, is a minor detail.
* I would like to see at least some help on how to proceed to win.

Overall, amazing job. Congrats to the team.

Wertle says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:22am

There was some great feedback here on the ship and the boost and such. I felt like I was in freakin Top Gun. However, I was never able to destroy a chain, there's a lack of feedback on hits so I never knew if I was actually damaging anything or not. Screenshake might be a fine method of hit feedback, but audio or vfx or any sort of cue would have helped. Good job!

sikosis says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:47am

Nice flying controls. Interesting take on the theme.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Nice game. I had fun flying passed the lasers and through the chains. I think some indicator on structure health would have been helpful as it took quite a few plays before I realized structures could be destroyed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]