Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

StarGrab

by foodzilla - Jam Entry

Touch stars to drag them to the wormholes! But if you run into a pursuing red star or a wormhole yourself... well, game over. Arrow keys to move, spacebar/return to start.

---

Yeah, this isn't a whole game exactly. More like part of one. But after FOUR pivots and over 30 hours outright lost... @_@

This is what I salvaged. It's hardly a game, but the game I wanted to make... well, that'll have to happen at a better time.

At least I made a roughly intact game in like... eight hours of building a framework from scratch and eight hours of game design, I'm lucky to have this much :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#546Innovation(Jam)2.75
#574Fun(Jam)2.69
#602Theme(Jam)2.56
#701Graphics(Jam)2.40
#741Overall(Jam)2.50
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I liked it, you should improve it, it has some potential with more juiciness! :)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:17pm

very interesting, well done

foodzilla says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:06am

:D

SnapDragon says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:40am

Good Game

Benjamin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:22am

Hey that's totally ok for a 16h game !! I play for 50-60 pts but didn't have the feeling game difficulty was increasing. Even with short time range try to add some difficulty curve ( it could be an incresing velocity on red star for example ).

I had hard time to understand how to drag stars because I didnt encounter any on the first 20 seonds of my two first try. So I was trying to "drag" the background stars and came back 2x time to read the description again.

The slow physic was fun to play, especially having to drag the star into but also avoiding the blackhole.

hectormorlet says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:29am

Cool game, but could do with some refinement.

brookman says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:43am

It was playable but not really that much fun. ^^' Good luck for next time!

Literal Games says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:50pm

This is a good base of a game, and could definitely be fun if expanded upon!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]