Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

You never call.

by cosmoray - Jam Entry

Your family has been separated. Reunite them by building and destroying bridges. Try to get everyone together before it's too late.

DEV
David Selassie
Nathan Hinchey

ART
Cosmo Ray
Helen Ip

SOUND
Cosmo Ray

Typeface is "Mission Gothic" by James T. Edmondson
http://www.losttype.com/font/?name=missiongothic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Graphics(Jam)4.38
#95Theme(Jam)3.77
#98Mood(Jam)3.75
#109Innovation(Jam)3.61
#151Overall(Jam)3.57
#204Audio(Jam)3.43
#454Fun(Jam)2.91
#2202Coolness0%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Beautiful graphics. Only some people moved & I always ended up with 4 family members - is it possible to do better?

cosmoray says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Certain family members want to go to specific places. If they arrive at those places, or have no path to them, they just stay put.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Graphics are superb, but I could not get a lot of guys with me :(

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Yeah what a good idea. This is awesom game mechanic... hards to handle this family :) Cool game artwork. tagged as beautyful!

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22am

I couldn't figure it out, but looks nice!

coldman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Gameplay is not quite clear...
Maybe some explaination would have been useful.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:40am

Really impressive in the way you used the theme in order to metaphorically treat the family's problems/remoteness (perhaps im totally wrong XD) . Anyways the gameplay is well thought and you could do so many challenges with this prototype, the atmosphere works well, and the effets are simple but effective. Congratulations

insane66 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:29pm

confusing (0.0)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:06am

HOHOHOHOHO! I won! I played three times and managed to get it on the third try in three turns. If the game had been more abstracted/minimalistic I'm sure I would have obsessively tried to find the minimum number of moves :> This was fun. Thank you!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

Like the graphics a lot. Nice concept.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

The theme was really well implemented in a game that is both fun and meaningful. Great work!

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:21am

Really nice game! The 3D graphics were really good! Sometimes I was not sure if this or that was a person or a plant, LOL. I'd like to get more challenges and see how good I went on that level. Great concept!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Incredibly well made, arts are truly lovely and this is clearly a nice theme related game. Making and destroying bridges is easy and fun to handle (well if a bridge projection could follow my mouse when I'm building it would be even nicer). But I'm not sure about the AI: I had the red-haired girl on an island with only one bridge leading to the rest of the family... Skip 9 turn and she didn't move once x) Oh wait, I read that some people will only go specific places...? Well, in that case, it's just very hard and look like a die and retry more than a puzzle! Little detail : characters are kind of hard to notice among the background. Anyway great entry.

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:09pm

These people are stubborn, couldn't get them to move where I wanted no matter how I tried. Cool concept!

fcpfoof says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Very good graphics, cool idea ;]

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Great puzzle! The mood is amazing, it feels heavy and sad. The graphics are really nice. I could play this game over and over. Maybe in the future it could have levels? Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]