Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connection Failed

by vanmount - Jam Entry

DISCLAIMER: This game is unfinished. Don't expect anything!

This is our second LudumDare entry and boy it went wrong. I'm only submitting this to show at least something.

After all, you can walk and shoot pandas... (wee?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#221Graphics(Jam)3.78
#705Fun(Jam)2.28
#761Innovation(Jam)1.78
#762Theme(Jam)1.61
#778Overall(Jam)2.11
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44am

Haha oh man, not only did the connection fail, I failed and shot myself while trying to get those damn pandas!

seantheartist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

I dig the photographic backgrounds!

Appocket says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

The graphics where nice so far, may you still could write on description what it had become if you where finished?

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48am

Good effort guys! I liked the art style quite a bit. Also: PANDAS!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53am

killed myself a few times with frindly fire. really nice old scool graphics style.

barleyarley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52pm

The art that was there was pretty decent. Not sure about anything past that though; I was able to fall off the edge of the level and the input randomly went from WASD to mouse controls half way through the game :D Would be interesting to know what you guys envisioned it being at the start though.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Love the graphics. Another casualty of friendly fire :/

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:47am

Graphics were pretty, but like you yourself said, clunky and unfinished. I turned around while shooting and died. Wat xD?

Let us know if you work on a post-comp version and complete it, it looks really cute and I'd love to play it.

TKia_ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Shot some pandas, turned around, died. Do like the graphics, though. Shame you guys didn't have more time, I'd have liked to seen what you could have done.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Graphics were super cute! It's unfortunate that you couldn't finish. :( It definitely felt a bit clunky, but hopefully you guys got something out of the entire experience. :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]