Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pluto's Revenge

by marvalgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare and looking forward to some criticism :)
I was only able to work on it for 12 hours total but it was a lot of fun. I originally wanted eight real size textured planets with obstacles.
W-A-S-D to guide the parallel Pluto's in unison. They have joined from three dimensions to help save the universe and join it's rightful place as a planet.
Use the mouse to aim with block cursor and fire at the other worlds.
The leader saves the worlds. The bouncer bounces. The followers destroy them
Reach the end of the tunnel saving worlds to complete your mission.
11 points saves the galaxy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#343Audio3.08
#636Humor2.21
#713Innovation2.96
#724Theme3.00
#897Overall2.85
#922Mood2.54
#970Fun2.54
#1029Graphics2.30

Comments

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Downloading a zip isn't a web game... couldn't test, sorry.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Nice game. I like the music. I only managed to save 1 world. Destroying worlds is too much fun. GJ

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

I can't seem to add the web version to my wordpress site.
I updated the Web link to a Kongregate link

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Very cool. I enjoyed this. I'm impressed that you only worked on it for 12 hours. Well done.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Great music :)

jurnacsr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Not quite sure of objectives, but I really liked the music!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Interesting game. Nice music. Good theme implementation.

locknic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Must admit, I didn't entirely understand the win/lose conditions. Ended up just clicking away at all the planets I could see. I like the physics of the connected worlds though!

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I don't understand either. That needs work. I wanted it to be obvious graphically but didn't happen.
The rescuer GREEN pluto Saves other planets (The Goal)
The destroyer BLUE pluto Destroys other planets
The bouncer RED pluto bounces off other planets.
Thanks for playing anyway!

Dimir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Game is colorful and beautiful. Great!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Hi there. Strange game! Dragging things around and clicking like crazy, fun watching those bounce around.

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Great music plus i had fun playing even though i lost all but 1 of my planets

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29am

Very nice idea.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:42am

Impressive for 12 hours of work and for being your first ludum dare. Weird take on the theme but it works and its fun to play, so kudos for your effort. Well done!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:13am

The game was actually pretty good, especially for 12 hours! The one thing I would suggest to work on is the graphics. Overall good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]