Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hex Racer

by Kashaar - Jam Entry

A Wipeout-inspired transdimensional racing game! Avoid mines with skillful maneuvering, or engage your Virtuality Drive to phase through them! But beware, Virtuality's creatures don't like intruders!

Keyboard controls:
-----------------
Throttle: [W] or [Up]
Brake: [S] or [Down]
Turning: [A]/[D] or [Left]/[Right]
Strafing: [Q]/[E] or [RCtrl]/[Num0]
Virtuality Drive: [Space]
Exit: Alt+F4

Made with Unreal Engine 4

Credits:
-------
Jan Kaluza (@JKashaar): Gameplay, Blueprint, Level Design, Additional Modeling
Scott Baker (@Sythen): Models, Textures, UI, Music
Yoeri Vleer (@Luos_83): Particle FX
Peter Newton (@PeterLNewton): UI, Blueprint

KNOWN ISSUES:
------------
If you get a "missing msvcr120.dll" error, try again after you install the Visual C++ redistributables for Windows from here:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784
Note: You have to download the 32 Bit-Version, even if you have a 64 Bit OS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2124Coolness10%

Comments

Kashaar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:31am

Alright, reuploaded and fixed! Not bug-free, but... what even is? Enjoy :)

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36am

Hey fellow UE4 users :P
I really dig the neon visuals of this one. But I am not sure what the goal is to be honest :P

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40pm

took my 20 minutes to download but finally got there! Great visuals, controls could use a little polish but overall great!

Kashaar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45pm

20 minutes? Shouldn't be that bad from the UK (I'm assuming by your nick). Anyway, I threw up a MediaFire mirror!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

I wanted to play it a lot, since it's Unreal Engine 4 and I want to make a game similar to this for a school project, but got a dll missing :(

Kashaar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Hyoga, see above - you need to download the Visual C++ Redistributable from Microsoft.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Looks and plays well!
~funkeh

ra4king says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:27am

Wow, visually extremely impressive! Good job, but with sounds it would have been an even better entry.

skiddings says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Cool that you used UE4 for the Jam. It's a cool game concept but I struggled with the controls and it was pretty buggy I'm afraid to say (kept telling me to turn back and restarting).

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:46pm

cool graphics, but the controls are a bit hard and after awhile playing I feel a great lack of motivation since there's no end or other racers.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]