Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetary Escape

by peejaygee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I Found it really hard to think of something to link with the theme.. This is the best I could come up with :)

All done using Clickteam Fusion 2.5 Developer / Cinema 4D / cgMusic / Southern Comfort and 7up / a wife still needing things done over the weekend.

Also compiled the HTML5 version in the Free Version of CTF2.5, so if people are reluctant to download .exe's you can see what is looks like, it doesn't work as good as the .exe version, and there is no music, but you can play the game.

The HTML5 Version works (sometimes you have to hit F5 to get it to load) without music in :-

Chrome 36.0.1985.143
IE 11.0.9600.17239
Firefox 31.0
Seamonkey 2.26.1
Opera 23.0.1522.77
Palemoon 24.7.1 (x64)

Also compiled to .apk for Android. I have compiled to 4.2 - API 17, as that is the phone I have. Other builds available on request, although it doesn't run as fast, and has no music, and you have to use on-screen joystick. If you have to ask how to install this .apk (or get it to your phone) you shouldn't be trying, there are plenty of online tutorials about it.

Thanks for trying/testing/voting and any feedback you may provide, positive OR negative.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#775Audio2.25
#884Humor1.77
#902Graphics2.53
#1085Mood2.08
#1100Theme2.20
#1141Innovation2.10
#1157Fun2.02
#1176Overall2.30

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

Damn, Mars got me! Enjoyed the relaxing music.

kewry says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07am

Saturn blocked the points then got me! The controls are pretty wonky but that kinda sells the game with all the spinning!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08am

Maybe I'm blind and/or stupid, but I can't even find the finish. I touched all the icons in the level and nothing happened. Anyway, the game seemed fun, an actual test of skill, although the enormous lack of friction was kind of frustrating. The no-friction also was a good thing though, because it forced you to plan ahead, since there was no way to turn around if a planet was heading your way.

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

Hey, nice try. I liked how your planets looked like, but you really shouldn't be using those textures according to the rules ;-)

As for the game, I think the two things you should concentrate at is the behavior of enemy planets and player control. I played the HTML version, and it often happened that a "checkpoint" would appear in a corner, and an enemy planet would get stuck there, rendering the level unwinnable - to avoid that, make sure that the enemy planets are always moving, and make them despawn after a while.

Also, because the game requires reflexes, you should give some more love to the players control - maybe remove the bounce when the player collides with the walls would help a lot in that sense.

Thanks for making your game available in so many different platforms! That rock :-)

siat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25am

Nice feel to the controls.

breadstix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

Very tough! Saturn tends to be a little drunk and Mars always ruins my score!

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47am

I found it quite difficult, but overall is nice

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

Good game. Kinda hard.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

The movement is sort of hard, but good game. I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/W46twhRFdK8

vinull says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Reminds me of Mario Bros - the original before "super". I never found an exit, but managed to pick up the red swirl a few times. Moving around was a bit rough, but otherwise enjoyed it.

Dan Norder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16am

This is difficult. I agree with caranha above that the enemies need to despawn or something to gain more control. But the planets and music are soothing... with a little something extra (not sure what) it could have been almost meditative.

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03am

Fun, haha. Silly concept.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

I can't get past the first level. I wish the controls were a bit nicer, as I keep getting stuck at corners :-/

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09am

Solid idea for a platformer, but the acceleration/physics made it a bit tough to get used to.

For some reason, sound didn't work for me.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Hey, I have uploaded the Windows version of my game now, as you requested.

I got trapped in a corner pretty often in your game.

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:50am

Interesting concept. Quite frequently I found that planets got stuck over the points I needed to get to, which is unfortunate as it essentially renders the game unplayable. I also couldn't hear any sound, and it seems like there should have been some.

Roysterini says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Not enough turtles.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]