Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Dungeons

by Sharkxx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move with W,A,S,D
Press space to switch in between dimensions
Press R to reset the Level
Beat the game by completing all 3 Levels

Known Bugs:
The boxes in Level 3 dont collied with the walls
A wall tile in Level 3 is gone

I just wanna say that this is my first entry and its not that good. Its very short, the sounds i made arent working and there are some bugs but this is a big step for me.
Its showed me that i should use Unity instead of Gamemaker :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#520Theme3.31
#992Innovation2.50
#993Audio1.45
#994Fun2.50
#1015Overall2.69
#1082Mood2.10
#1176Graphics1.80
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57am

The sounds are really annoying, sorry.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58am

Good idea. Can be expanded into a great game. The switching-sound is a bit annoying. Maybe add a walking sound instead?

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59am

Oh look, we had the same idea! :D

elemel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01am

Well done. I enjoyed it.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01am

Interesting entry. Level 3 is pretty challenging with that box-wall collision bug :DDD

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice little game, I actually like you making the switching sound yourself! Gives it a certain charm. I found the player character moved too slowly for my liking.

dix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nice game, sadly tho I was on level 3 and I lost a box in the wall, and pressing R didn't reset the level :c
Nice idea tho, I liked how you mixed up things with boxes and keys to keep the player interested and the gameplay different :D

4KbShort says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49pm

An excellent game for a first go! Great level designs that worked well with the mechanics. The sounds were simple (and did get repetitive) but they worked for make the game more interactive. I found myself pushing through all three levels to get to the end which is a great compliment for any LD entry as there are so many to play. One extra mechanic could be to kill the player if they switch into a wall, but the corridors would need to be widened as I often found myself in a wall. Great job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Hi there. Nice idea. Found the character sized exactly same as blocks to be a bit frustrating, no leeway for fitting through gaps. Shame no sound.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:04am

Graphics are a bit ugly (but we don't play games for graphics, so it didn't bother me). However, the sound effect for switching was rather annoying. And the player gets stuck very easily. The idea is nice, though. You should make a post-compo edition with more polishing.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:10pm

It is not a bad game at all. Well adapted to theme and it presents nice puzzling concepts.

Sogomn says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Really cool game! The sound was a bit annoying tho. And more levels would be nice, of course.

Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Cool game. I like some of the ideas presented here. Nice job!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Good idea, but I seem to be able to cross the walls that are present in both words by pushing the spacebar at a fast rate.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Not bad for first entry in my opinion. The sound is really anoying though. And I didn't get what the boxes in level 3 were for. I just walked through the black and won.
But cool idea.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Great first entry, it was fun to play. Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]