Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

IF

by Squidtank - Jam Entry

"If" is a game about exploring your emotions and past events within the mind, in order to overcome them and survive real life.

The protagonist stands at a ledge, about to jump, agonizing over past mistakes. The only way to prevent it is to go back through the fragile mind, to repeat the same mistakes, to ponder, "what if I could master these painful emotions, to use them as a strength, rather than a hindrance?

Each level is a mistake the protagonist made in life. The level is made of obstacles and enemies that represent each element of the overall mistake. The protagonist must use emotions to overcome these elements and show that the mistake could have been prevented. Be careful, however, as strong emotions take a heavy toll on the mind, and can ruin resolve in moments. Some emotions are too powerful, overwhelming to the point of a mental snap.

Movement:
A moves left.
D moves right.
Space jumps
Left Shift activates a currently selected Avatar's power.
1 summons or selects the Avatar of Anger
2 summons or selects the Avatar of Fear
R dismisses the currently selected Avatar, and will allow the protagonist to cool-off.

Every time you use an emotion, your Psyche heats up with resolve. If your Psyche overheats, however, you'll burn out completely. Your Willpower, your will to live, slowly depletes in each level, darkening your vision. It can be damaged further by enemies and environmental hazards... until eventually, you just might give up, as your mind goes completely dark, choosing to relinquish your life.

... or do you?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#56Mood(Jam)3.90
#252Graphics(Jam)3.70
#276Audio(Jam)3.31
#339Innovation(Jam)3.12
#366Overall(Jam)3.25
#378Theme(Jam)3.17
#437Humor(Jam)2.30
#651Fun(Jam)2.50

Comments

oakus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Impressive game, but I could not finish it ... I always got stucked between two platforms in second level and couldn ´t fall down. But the heavy mood was really captivating.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23pm

I liked the mood of the game but found it a little confusing to play.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23pm

I like this game, and the use of the theme. I get all raging angry when I come across mean staple pullers. I too got stuck on the second level.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30pm

This is a great concept, and I love the art. The mechanics seemed incredibly buggy, though, especially the jumping.

SilverToad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:53pm

So dark and so cool. When I played this game, Jay Munly songs was in my head.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:22pm

The NPCs were talking about using keys but they did nothing. Got stuck quickly between the two platforms, they jump would not go high enough

lucidsheep says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Super moody! I got stuck on level 2, no idea what to do.

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:13am

The physics (especially jump height) felt a little unintuitive.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:24am

Cool concept. The controls felt a little loose though.

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:36am

great atmosphere! the jump sound was awesome.

Phaix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:43am

Nice game! It would be great if the controls would be more precise and the character would stop directly after releasing the button.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:41am

I love the atmosphere, and I want to play farther, but the jumping physics is a bit aggravating.

akymos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Some bug but nice game.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Amazing, i love the idea! :) The controlls are a little bit bugged out and the play might be too slow. All in all it is a great game! :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Quite an interesting concept, making a playable metaphor for depression to help others understand it (and vent, probably). The backstory/intro added an enormous amount of weight. Nice art with a solid theme, and appropriate music/sound.

Two things kept me from finishing: One, the platforming is sketchy, I keep running off the edge because my jumps fail. Two, when I listen to characters the darkness keeps closing it. It also reverted me back to the first level after I let my emotion get out of hand, so I gave up.

I'm sure you've probably heard this before, but there are help lines you can call that might help you sort things out if you're feeling crushed.

Maxom says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

High potencial but the movement ruined completely for me. I wasn't able to jump and move like I wanted to.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

A bit confusing but lovely concept and mood

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:24am

Awesome artwork and theme/mood! I found it a bit hard to control, but the presentation was top-notch.

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:11am

Overall great entry. Very immersive environment and story.

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I really liked the mood and the art of the game. It's a bit confusing to play and sometimes I couldn't land proprely on the platforms. Overall nicely done :).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]