Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetary Bowling

by Akz- - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fling super-heavy asteroids at unsuspecting planets in the exciting new sport of planetary bowling!

Controls:
- Drag with the mouse to launch asteroids.
- SPACE speeds up the progression of time.

Tools: LibGDX, Bfxr, Audacity, Autotracker and Paint.NET.

The font used is Orbitron, which is licensed under OFL and is available from here: http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/Orbitron.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#50Fun3.87
#151Overall3.68
#265Audio3.23
#315Innovation3.47
#400Graphics3.34
#561Humor2.32
#657Mood2.87
#858Theme2.76

Comments

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Really good!
Simple and fuuny to play. I like the music e dificult.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:24pm

The planets are a little hard to hit, but this game makes A LOT OF FUN xD

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Very nice game, had some fun playing it, art style were very good too.

grifdail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Very smart ! I liked it !

mechabit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Very fun game

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Nice one!

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

I really like all kinds of orbit games so you had an easy one on me.
Only downside is that planets are too hard to hit sometimes.

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Very funny! Too bad there's no bonus for using one planet's gravity force for hitting the other one :p

jpmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Great fun, well done. Good length with a good number of levels and difficulties. My only criticism is the slightly weak theme connection.

clementcent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Great Game ! The concept is really fun !

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Extremely fun and difficult. The music and graphics are great!

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

5 stars for fun obviously.
Agree the theme connection is a little tenuous but this game is great and look very polished.
Great work!

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Nice gravity simulation :)

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I really like the idea!
but it's too hazardous (or too hard for me)... Maybe more and bigger planets or a line with the intended path of your ball (like the easy mode on the billiard simulators...)

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Enjoyed it very much! Tried to make orbits using the asteroids but I think you've coded it so I can't right? ;D
Not so fond of the colours, but I'm not good with colours anyway. Like the font, music is okay. Some planets were a bit hard to hit, but nothing impossible.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice game, very creative concept and the implementation is good too. The clean art is nice too. But the moving curves are a bit difficult to predict.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Very cool mechanics

Budda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Awesome game, love the concept and how it plays out. Well done!

rebecca says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03am

Nice job on the gravity simulation. Pretty fun, too. It's sorta weird that if you just fling the asteroids really slowly, you'll usually hit something because of the gravity. That didn't stop me from enjoying it, though.

Super fun!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

This is a good game! I liked it!

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

Pretty sweet, although I think it would be even more fun if the gravity had more of an effect on the balls you shoot.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38pm

I like the concept but I would have enjoyed it better if the red ball was more easily orbitable.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Hi there. Such fun flinging asteroids around... worryingly rather too much fun... Good job!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:49am

Well I suck at bowling planets, it turns out, but it's helluva fun :D Nice work dude!

sekaru says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Nice and simple but still (enjoyably) difficult.

Oli says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

A bit hard to aim but very cool ^^

tanjent says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Really good and very clean/simple with good core mechanics. I think that instead of the message about not dragging inside the circle you could project the mouse pointer to nearest point on the rim and shoot from there.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:53am

Quite a fun game. Well done. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]