Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

High Flyer[DEMO]

by Mallot1 - Jam Entry

[JAM ENTRY]
Hello guys, and welcome to High Flyer v1.0a[DEMO]! In this game you fly around through tricky mazes to get to the end!
-Hours of fun!
-Amazing gameplay!
-Sick Soundtrack!

Spacebar - to shoot
LeftClick - Up


Hope you guys enjoy the game! Please leave a rate and a comment, thanks and have a great day!

UPDATED: August 25, 2014 8:56 PM EST
If there's an update it can be found on the website:
http://www.gamegrapestudios.blogspot.com
*Memory leak has been fixed and can be found on the website.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#689Audio2.46
#919Humor1.64
#1109Mood1.80
#1188Fun1.86
#1191Theme1.60
#1195Innovation1.70
#1199Graphics1.60
#1206Overall2.10

Comments

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31pm

can't play game, instantly die too fast, then crashes due to dying so fast

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35pm

@Skills641 sorry to hear that, will fix for the full version. Thanks!

Transmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Your youtube video of the game seems to be at a much more reasonable pace, the version I played was crazy fast.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39pm

@Transmit this is definitely an issue then, I will fix this thanks!

Longarmx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Randomly crashed on me. It was really hard, as in I couldn't play for more than half a second (my game is running about 50 times faster than yours). Also, you have to go to your website to get the full version? Also, where's the source?

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41pm

@Longarmx I'm almost done with the full version, adds lost of cool stuff! :D I'll see if I can upload the source soon, thanks for playing :D

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I died instantly and then got stuck in the roof with a crash error

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Game was unplayable for me as well and moves way to quick.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56pm

@IsaacL.Balogh and @Jaloko You know I'll just fix the error now :) Thanks!

Norfinel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:18am

The game crash every time !

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23am

@Norfinel I'm working on a patch right now :)

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:28am

Why you no Mac?

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44am

sorry @Andrew Adams , I will see if I can port it in the future :)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:01am

Can't play it! Too fast and instantly die at the beginning! You are allowed to change this kind of bug during the LD.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04am

Great music, pretty innovative too!

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04am

@pighead10 I understand :) the update is on my site, I didn't touch the LD entry download link :)

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05am

@ChuiGum Thanks alot! :D You were able to play? :)

Evil Scotsman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08am

For others trying to play this game, spacebar fires a bullet to get through blue walls (you should mention that in the description). I liked it and wanted to play more but if I didn't finish a level fast enough the game would crash on me.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15am

@Evil Scotsman glad you liked it! Alright I'll add it into the description, I have been trying to fix the memory leaks all day xD! when It's fixed you can find it on the website. See you around! :D

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39am

I think its not so good. Controls are weird and sound is way too loud and cant be made quieter. Im glad there is disable audio. UI was strange

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

Was a bit finicky, a little too fast at the start. Crashed after a few plays so I lost my progress =( Could be a good game if polished up a bit.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45am

Kinda reminds me of flappy bird.
I wish the controls were abit sharper, like faster up and down movement. It's too slow right now
Also, it's really unforgiving; I can't blink or I die.
Also, The music is really cool.

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54am

I like it, it is hard, but it does crash a lot. I was able to get to the third level but crashes (about 5) are annoying.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59am

This game is way too hard. I'm guessing you are going for flappy bird-like game, but this is still way too frustrating.

After a while The game does crash. It's at random times some I'm guessing it's probably a memory leak or premature deallocation issue. Specific error is 0x71002a95 referenced memory at 0x00000000. Memory could not be read.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05am

@WebFreak001 I understand, thanks for playing anyway :)

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07am

@billknye Glad you liked it! All the wonderful polish and stuff is going into the full version! :D Hmm, maybe I will add a game speed option to the demo. Thanks for playing! :D

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08am

@Tom Snively Glad you like the game! :D The crash problem is being fixed as we speak, and I will update the demo once its fixed! Have a great day! :)

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11am

@dalbinblue I'm sorry that the game was too hard, I think I'll add a game speed setting so people can play at their own speed :D The memory leak bug fix is in action right now :D Hope you come back when it's fixed! Have a great day :D

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24am

Way too difficult, and after five or so failures the game crashed. Needs slowing down just a bit

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23pm

@Vyteros I added a speed option :) You can find it on the site, I also finally fixed the memory leak so no more crashes! :D thanks!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Nice little game but it makes you rage when you fail close to the end. Also recommend you to show controls on the intro screen and to start player a little lower so you don't die immediately.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02pm

@commodoreKid thanks for playing :) Alright, I'll see if I can change the maps up a little for the full version. Thanks! :D

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice little game, but...how have you managed to rate 315 games in this time?

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

@malf thanks! that's a good question! :D I wen't through the different categories and I look at the games. If I really like it I'll play it. I also didn't want to leave out the really nice graphics one's if I didn't want to play it, so I rated those on their graphics, etc; pretty much I took what I liked about it and rated it accordingly. Thanks!

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:26pm

@malf and I entered the compo so I had 24+ hours to play the other games! :D

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:48pm

@Miziziziz I'm glad you liked the game! :D I added speed settings so now you set set it to how you'd like! I'm glad you liked the music! :D Thanks!

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I die in like 2 seconds every time.

barleyarley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Unfortunately kept dying instantly. The core concept seems a bit unoriginal as well unfortunately. Good job on finishing something though! It's just a shame about the current insta-death issue.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22pm

@ViliX sorry to hear that. You can adjust the speed with the speed setting at the start! Thanks for playing! :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Interesting game. I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/LbmZDYffwi8

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Thanks @Jupiter_Hadley :D

DrMelon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:17am

Not too bad! It did run a bit fast for me, but it was playable!

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:27am

@DrMelon thanks! I'm happy that we were able to play and enjoy :D, thanks a lot! :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:20am

Part 9 take two - Now with sound - http://youtu.be/lmQkJ525PNo

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:40am

@Jupiter_Hadley thanks! I left you a comment on your website when I noticed the problem. Can't wait to watch! :D

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18pm

too hard for me,I died twice right at the end of level 2 in easy mode, that was as far as I could go. I think you should have some easier levels in the begining and then make the game gradually more challenging because the narrow channel in level 2 is really hard, and I had to quit not having played much of the game.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Challenging.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:21pm

I played easy mode and runned well. Nice little game.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:14pm

@Lokarunith Thanks for playing! I will see if I can make the levels a little easier. Thanks for your feedback! :D

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:14pm

@hb3p8 thanks! glad you liked it, thanks for playing! :D

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:15pm

@thecolorhacker thanks! the full version will have many more levels and some cool new stuff! :D Thanks for playing! :D

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:05pm

@Lokarunith level 2 is now easier! you can get the update on the site. Thanks!

zeal says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Cool retro style game and I appreciated the difficulty settings with slowing down in hard parts. The music track is great.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:10pm

@zeal thanks! I'm very glad you enjoy the game! :D The full version will be available soon! :D See you around! :D

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:23pm

cool game, I wish there were more game mechanics though :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nice game. Had to play it on easy though or I would instantly die.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36pm

@AtomicVikings thanks for reviewing the game! :D I watched the stream for a day, I added alot of features to the full version, will be out soon. Thanks! :D

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:37pm

@RagePaint Thanks! Yeah, the other modes are much harder. Thanks for playing!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:46am

Not very cool :/

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:00pm

The controls are really sensitive! In order to be able to play at all I had to choose option 4 at the beginning to set my own speed. Anything other than 1 was unplayable. Also, consider giving the player more headroom on the first level. I found that unless I'm really fast the click of the play button will register in the game and I will crash immediately into the ceiling. With a little work this could be a pretty fun game!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

It's probably worth mentioning that hard mode is completely impossible (can't get started on medium either, just keep hitting that top wall). Most of the time when I start the game I instantly hit the top wall and die because I'm clicking the play button to start it. I was able to play through in easy mode, and the level design was quite well thought out. Nice work.

The music is really cool - however I noticed that it is from http://www.nosoapradio.us/! All content in the game must be your own and made within the 48 hours, so unfortunately the audio breaks the 48h compo rules... Apart from that, the game is pretty solid on easy mode.

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

Cool little game - would be pretty awesome to see this on mobile.

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Hard, but nice music.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I think the game runs crazy fast, after clicking the play button all I hear is a crashing noise and back to the menu!

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

@ice cold muffin sorry you feel that way. Thanks for playing anyway.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:36pm

@ninjascript thanks! All of that has been fixed now. It's available from the website if you would like to have the full game experience. Thanks for playing, and glad you liked it! :D

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

@varun thanks! I am currently working on getting it on iPhone. Hope it works out :D

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

@Tomker thanks!

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:40pm

@RHY3756547 Thanks I'm glad you liked it! On the website you can find an update to the game that makes it wait until you click the space bar before the game starts. So that means no more instant deaths! :D I was going to make this a Jam entry but I didn't see the option by the time I got around to it. I wrote jam entry at the top of the description. Thanks for playing! :D

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

@DaanVanYperen That has been fixed on the website. Thanks for playing! :D

Xanjos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Ridiculously hard even if you set the speed to something as low as 1 but still, pretty interesting game. Spaceship physics need some slight improving on (but still works) and the music was actually quite good.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:17pm

@Xanjos I'm glad you liked it. Yes I noticed the top of the ship collision detecting is alittle off. Thanks for playing! :D

dancingmad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Seriously, that's way too hard, could barely finish level 3 on easy mode...

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:43am

@dancingmad Glad you had fun! How was level 4? Maybe I'll add some easier levels :) Thanks for playing!

Code White says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:01pm

AAAAARRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:22am

@CodeWhite I'm glad you liked it! :D

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:38am

Pretty fun. It'd be nice if the movement were acceleration-based instead of just velocity.

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:31am

@kirbytails7 Thanks! Alright, I'll see what I can do for future versions :) Thanks for playing! :D

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:02am

Something seriously off with the speed. Even on custom (4) with a speed of 1 it's a click-fest that's like a bad PC port of flappy bird...I did like the music though.

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:04pm

@vividhelix that's why It is challenging! :D Glad you liked it and thanks :)

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Way too difficult, and poor choice of controls.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:11am

good job!but so hard to play that in my opinion affects badly on player's experience about game.

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:23pm

@ra4king I understand, what would you of chosen for controls?

@Rehacked Thanks! I understand. If it's too hard you could set the speed to easy or 1. Thanks for playing.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:09pm

▶ Game is hard.

Also, I agree with another poster's comment about your music source. It's against the rules to use music created by anyone else in the Jam, sorry.

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:54pm

@Mach60KAS I labeled it a Compo and didn't get to change it before changing time was closed. Sorry. Thanks for playing :D

the31 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:25pm

I changed it to be a jam entry. You can always contact an admin on IRC to help in the future! :)

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:09pm

If the game was slower it would be better. Also I'm not quite sure how it relates to the theme. But the graphics were good, and I liked the music!

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Thanks a lot @the31 :D Did you like the game? :)

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:54pm

@IamAcoconut Glad you liked it! You can change the speed to 1, It seems to be a popular speed setting :D It relates to the theme because you are in an alien ship on its way to Earth and you must get through the mazes to get off of the planet. Thanks for playing! :D

Sogomn says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:02pm

This is way too hard.

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:26pm

@Sogomn sorry you feel that way. :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Loved the music! Game is really hard but I was able to stay alive for a bit haha. Good job!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Solid entry

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:13pm

@Snicklodocus Thanks! :D Glad you liked it! :D

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 20, 2014 @ 2:09am

@apiotrw Thanks! :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:54pm

There is now a full version of HighFlyer with a bigger version in development! :) You can find the current version here: http://gamegrape-studios.itch.io/high-flyer .

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]