Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Old One

by JNT - Jam Entry

README

NOTE: WEB link links to a global package containing all
versions of the game including source code.

=======
Credits
=======

By JNT

Created for Ludum Dare 30 (Jam section).
2014-08-26

======
Source
======

Contains all source code used in this project.
Includes Qt Creator project files and Visual
Studio project.

Compile:

[Windows]
You need SDL1.2, SDL_image1.2, SDL_mixer1.2,
and GLEW.

[OSX]
You need SDL1.2, SDL_image1.2, SDL_mixer1.2,
an OpenGL implementation and a Cocoa implementation
(you might need to have XCode installed for the last one)

[Linux]
You need libsdl1.2, libsdl_mixer1.2, libsdl_image1.2 and
glext.

Open project with QtCreator or Visual Studio, build & run, then done.

===
Run
===

[Windows]
You need:
a moderately modern OpenGL implementation w/ driver

To run:
Double-click old_one.exe in bin folder.

[OSX]
You need:
a moderately modern OpenGL implementation w/ driver

To run:
Double-click old_one.app in the bin folder.

[Linux]
You need:
libsdl1.2
libsdl_image1.2
libsdl_mixer1.2
a moderately modern OpenGL implementation w/ driver

To run:
Open a consode.
Navigate to binary file.
Type "./old_one"
Note1: You may need to alter file permissions in order
for the binary to run.
Note2: With luck you can run the binary by double-clicking
it. However, that depends on how your file manager
sets working directory.

====
Play
====

Rules:
Avoid/draw advantage of planetary alignment
and gravity to make your way to the heart of
the sun before the timer runs out. Keep an eye
on your stamina, and rest up on planets rather
than in space.

Button config:
Hold LEFT MOUSE BUTTON to move character (both on/off planet)
Hold RIGHT CTRL for map overview
Hold RIGHT SHIFT to pass time/regain stamina
Press SPACE to make a controlled jump at expense of stamina

====
NOTE
====

This game was tested on Windows 7 64 bit (although binary is 32 bit), OSX 10.6.8, Ubuntu 12.10 (64 bit, x86-64). These are the only platforms that I have available, so if there is a platform specific bug that only occurs on newer versions of any of the OSes I can't do much. Try compiling the code yourself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#207Humor(Jam)2.90
#261Innovation(Jam)3.24
#376Mood(Jam)3.10
#378Theme(Jam)3.17
#453Overall(Jam)3.12
#499Fun(Jam)2.83
#604Audio(Jam)2.07
#668Graphics(Jam)2.56
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26pm

The WEB link goes to the linux version.

JNT says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Web link is mandatory, I saw no way around it. Going to upload a package containing all exes for Web download.

JNT says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Web link now points to a global package containing all
versions of the game including source code.

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52pm

I liked it. Pretty funny with the snail. Very hard game. Bit frustrating here and there but funny still.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Nice idea, but the stamina system seems to be a bit too harsh and unclear - I think I would have liked to see a numeric indicator of stamina in addition to the snail/shell colour.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Come on, it's too hard. Poor little snail T____________T

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Echoing the above - amusing concept but really difficult!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

Took me a little while to get it working on OSX (should have read your notes first haha!) I was pretty confused at first, but a nice sub :) keep it up

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

You can change the name of the 'Web' link.

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Nice concept, but the stamina system made it seem a bit tedious

JNT says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Joshua: Thanks, didn't realize.

Tanser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:45am

Interesting story! :D

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:04am

It would be a lot better with the right music, but even now it's crazy original and cool.

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:18am

Great to see a fellow SDL developer ( although I migrated to SDL2 ) Great Work! :D

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I liked this game a lot! It captures really well how big the universe is and how much ime it takes to travel from one place to another.
And thanks for carifying Ursa Minor's true meaning ;)

JNT says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Pretty funny my score for audio (2) puts me in #600th place when there is *no* audio in the game whatsoever... :/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]