Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

the static speaks my name

by idovingx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Very short exploration game(game???). Arrow keys or WASD to walk, use E to interact with things. Lemme know if it crashes or freezes as I was having issues with that earlier. Thanks.

oh, and im on twitter at @jessebarksdale mmhmm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#24Mood4.10
#125Audio3.55
#350Innovation3.43
#363Overall3.40
#562Graphics3.10
#679Humor2.15
#681Theme3.08
#749Fun2.83

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

I really liked it :)

hellojed says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

Very Interesting.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Quite unique, can't say I've played anything like that yet.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54pm

I'm really not sure what to make of it. I liked your sound decision, and there were a few really great moments. But I had some issues that I'm sure would be ironed out if you chose to do a post-compo version. Great work.

SaxonRah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:14am

Holy jeepers, this was definitely one of the best entries i've played yet.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:20am

Cool ambiance! That maybe more than anything else made it interesting.

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21am

I hate being the asshole, but the constant "BRRRRRRR" audio killed this game for me.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21am

Awesome visual style. I was oddly affected by this. Greatjob!

phaser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:14am

Very Interesting, in a David Lynchian sort of way. I like how nothink is explained and everything is just a big WTF. I Would love to see this idea continue with better production

cudabear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18am

Wow, this was incredible! Despite the somewhat simple and cartoonish graphics, you managed to maintain an eerie feeling of despair. Lots of symbolism up in here!

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18am

This game has a great mood and pretty good graphics.

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24am

Interested in trying your game but Im on linux

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24am

Don't smoke the grass bro' :)
Strange story without clear sentence, but I liked. Well done ++

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Spooky, nice moody entry :)

uberscientist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:37am

Awesome thanks a lot! That was great, I love the idea of game characters waking up at the beginning of a game

hate-marina says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:37pm

WAT

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45pm

So ominous! Great job!

mephisto says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:47pm

On both web and windows version I can only see red particles on a white screen floating in space. I can move, jump and sometimes it looks like I'm colliding with something not visible though.

mephisto says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I replayed it and I definitely dont regret it. Awesome game!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:41am

Pretty interesting. Good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:39am

Hi there. Spooky... got to The End space, or is it ?! 'last bath' nice wording, a portent. TV also sinister.

Shmarah says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:43am

Same situation as mephisto. Am I missing something...?

Shmarah says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:52am

whoa, that was chilling! thanks for the help; really wanted to play it and glad I did!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Best horror(?) game since Slender! Thanks for the Linux build.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Creepy. O-o I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/oHxpkDX49XQ

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Thought I was missing something the way it ended, but I guess there was only the one world? Ends whenever I try to take another path. Good possibilities if this were built into something. Lose the buzzing though.

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Really good - has a slender man feel to it. Love atmosphere you created :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Terrific atmosphere, it gave me some cold chills.
Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]