Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disconnected

by suurin - Jam Entry

A game about two disconnected.. dimensions?.. trying to reunite and connect again. Connect two square-ish thingies to complete levels, share your best times, have fun.

Note: use WASD and Enter for menu navigation.

Note: if you can't pass second level, check this walkthrough http://youtu.be/TCwTSEsqpEU

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#288Audio(Jam)3.28
#295Fun(Jam)3.19
#306Theme(Jam)3.33
#327Overall(Jam)3.30
#395Mood(Jam)3.06
#448Innovation(Jam)2.93
#457Humor(Jam)2.24
#484Graphics(Jam)3.12

Comments

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:36am

You have nothing to be jelous of. You have great idea here, game look superb and everything works fine. Really nice job :)

Although you could write in game how to choose options from menu, I've tried mouse and keys and space and at the end wsad and enter, if someone won't read description prior to playing he may have problems. Other than that really like it.

Aomeas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:41am

The game feels slow in general, but its correct on the game mechanics :3

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Nice puzzle game :)

ob6160 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Great game :)

mess110 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:26pm

wasd vs arrows was a bit confusing in the menu (hint to self :P)

but the idea is pure gold. nice one

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Cool mechanic!

goerp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Wow, great music!
At first I found it too hectic for a puzzle game, but it is a bit more of a action puzzle game, so it kind of fits.
I would like it if it were more obvious which rectangle was playing.

I did find the second level quite hard for such an early level, though.

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Nice audio, nice graphics, nice idea! I can't get past the second level though haha

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Very nice puzzle. Graphics is simple yet very pleasing

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Simple, yet complex. I like it. The start screen really caught my attention, and the game did not disappointed me whilst playing. Nice level progression and also the design of the puzzles.

spartangeek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Great & fun idea plus nice music! OFC there is room for improvement (the change between the two squares should be more obvious, controls could give a less clumsy/slow feeling, graphics could be made more esthetic especially when the player wins/dies) but my overall opinion is very good. Congrats!

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Mechanics are cool. I couldn't get past second level because I found it too difficult to time things.

suurin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Level 2 walkthrough was added to the description. Just be fast ;)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Great music and fun game

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Nice clean execution, would have loved an animation when the two squares touched.

Majko says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

The music is really annoying, sorry. Overall the concept isn't very original. Nice visual look though.

akymos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Very nice.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Fun game! Great use of the theme.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:57pm

This was great. I agree with others who said that the controls feel a bit slow or mushy, and I think you need to make it more clear which square you're controlling when they're both on screen. Other than that, very well done!

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

The soundtrack is very nice. The friction when you walk at a wall feels wrong. The puzzles were nice and the minimalistic graphics did their job very well.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:28am

Nice mechanics and innovative design. The background music was a bit annoying at times though. And I couldn't complete the second level either, must check the walkthrough now. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]