Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

BadGameYouShouldNotPlay

by thebmxeur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is not finished.
It's nearly impossible to finish.
If you finish it you have to reload the page to do start again.
If you finish it you must be insane, but I'll give you a virtual candy.

You are ... somebody tracking somebody or something. You have to move from planet to planet and place trackers to help you locate your target. Most of your actions take time during which your target will move.

Type help or ? to get a list of commands.

The only interesting part (to me and no one else) is the console which was meant to help me debug but evolve to being the game itself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#611Innovation3.09
#935Humor1.41
#958Theme2.58
#981Audio1.50
#1037Graphics2.29
#1080Mood2.11
#1190Fun1.85
#1192Overall2.22

Comments

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06am

I liked the idea of using the console;
Kinda shame you sort of gave up on the game,
I think if you'd just make a tutorial screen this could've
been a greate game !
Again - really liked the idea of console so innovation
is 5/5 :)

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09am

I would love to play this game, but I can't figure out what to press/do...console just gives me unknown commands! Any clues?

thebmxeur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:12am

Help or ? in the console will give you a list of available commands. Don't expect something fun though ^^

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15am

I really like console-driven games, but this didn't feel too good, it's not innovative and things like that, but yeah it might be because you gave up, but don't worry, it's still okay that you finished!

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50am

Interesting idea with the console.

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:33pm

I got really excited when I got the camera to move!
Cool idea, I feel like it could have worked with a bit more direction as to actually track down the target. I sent the authorities to a tone of planets, but I couldn't get anything to happen.
Could work on that title a bit though.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Shame you didn't finish it, has potential.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Really good idea with this game : ) Innovation = 5

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Woohoo! The first procedural star system I've seen so far except for my own - I like the ideas and the console thing as part of a spaceship control system could be made into an interesting game. Keep doing things with stars and planets :)

Ellian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04pm

The idea wasn't bad, I kinda wanted to move around planets and search for the target, but... oh well :(

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:24pm

YOU MUST FINISH LOL Nice original concept!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Controlling with a console made me feel like a hacker, so that was cool. I just didn't understand what I was doing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]