Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

No Connected Worlds For Old Men

by WillysJerry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small endless strategy/puzzle game I made for the first time going solo for ludum dare.

It's been a tradition to name my games after movie titles and had trouble figuring out a good one for this game, ended up just picking a movie I liked (Kinda like how it sounds though).

Instructions:
Connect the worlds to prevent overpopulation.
Each world can hold a population of 10 people, The game is over if one of the worlds get overpopulated.
Each world can only connect to one other world at a time, right click a connection to remove it as long as noone is currently migrating along it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#105Theme3.88
#189Innovation3.67
#375Audio3.00
#596Overall3.17
#604Mood2.93
#812Humor1.95
#882Fun2.67
#1126Graphics2.08

Comments

jinxly says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Cool idea, awesome job!

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02am

Great game, great execution.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15am

Good work , but I can't figure out when the population stop increasing .

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Cool game, I would prefer a specific goal, like a duration. More feedback to know where the population will increase would be nice. Keep up the good work.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Nice implementation. Like the idea

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Good game, done well!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35pm

neat. would be nice if there was an end condition :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Awesome game! Exactly the kind of game I want to play. Very good gameplay, and the music is very atmospheric. Overall 5/5 would play again.

Dohan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36pm

That music while you look at those people running from world to world is really relaxing :)

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:58am

Nice one! :) I think it could grow into nice and more interestng puzzle game.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Really good idea! ^^

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Cool game, but you have to make something that decreases population, so the game is never ending.

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Interesting concept. Its quite challenging too. Fits well with the theme. Good job.

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21pm

They idea is great and the game is polished with no bugs in my play. I just miss a win condition or something. Anyway well done :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

It was a cool game that used the theme very well. Very simple and straight forward, but entertaining. I had a problem with not being able to right click in order to remove connections, even though there was no ball passing over at the time. I was using the chrome web version, that could be the reason, unfortunately that limited my ability to play the game to its fullest extent, but from what I could see it was an overall good game with nice calming music and all right graphics.

akymos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Good job.

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:26pm

I'm old now? :)
This is somewhat analogous to my game I guess: )
Nice implementations though.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:08am

Nice game, great concept! Sweet audio and the game obviously fit the theme perfectly.

hbocao says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Very cool idea! It could totally work on mobile.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]