Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disconnect Worlds

by thomz12 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

1 Solar system, 2 worlds?! Fight for you place in the solar system! Fire rockets at each other, and push the other world out of his orbit!

Created with Unity, I included the Unity project files if you want to take a look.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#223Fun3.48
#304Audio3.15
#394Innovation3.37
#436Humor2.50
#438Overall3.32
#534Mood3.00
#598Graphics3.04
#643Theme3.14

Comments

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26am

Very cool, I had spent some time playing, because it's tricky to aim ;).

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Nice idea and very well made mechanics and gameplay..4/5

Ellian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Hah, this is actually quite nice!
I wish the missiles were faster because the pace is a bit slow, but it's fun!

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:15pm

I did not know how to shoot properly but it's pretty addictive, dont know why..

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Great idea, but for some reason my scroll wheel didn't change the power so the game was unplayable :(

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:15pm

good fun game, AI is a bit dumb though

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Hi there. Interesting idea, but couldn't aim reliably - almost all angles of shot including tangential forward on my own orbit just decay into the sun..

aneeslol says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:23am

Aiming in a circular trajectory is a pretty interesting twist on this sort of game, hitting stuff felt satisfying. Also very cool how the orbit is the health bar.

arzi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Nice variation on Scorched Earth type of gameplay.

TimtheBo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Awesome Game! Awesome Music! Had fun blasting that Computer.

camlang says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I managed to play it with laptop sensor meaning no power adjustement and still won. It kinda reminded me worms which is certainly a good thing

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Pretty fun, I liked trying to take the perfect shot :)

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:20am

This is actually very entertaining, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]