Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Shifter

by ikarus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires java, no web version avalible. My first ever LD, I didn't get to finish half of what I wanted to, but it's playable. Thanks :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#468Theme3.37
#784Innovation2.85
#849Mood2.65
#1076Graphics2.20
#1105Overall2.50
#1144Fun2.08
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

pinion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Well done for completing your first LD game.

Liked the idea too.

jpmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

I couldn't get across the bridge on the first level, not sure why. Good idea though, I made something a bit similar once: http://globalgamejam.org/2014/games/two-levels

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07pm

It's simple but an ok entry. Congratulations on completing the compo ;)
Also, you should explain in the tutorial screen that 'x' is the interact button :)

kev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice Idea, It would be nice to see it fleshed out more. And I think the guy could move a bit faster

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Pretty good, too bad you ran out of time. I hope you had a good time!

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

I like the idea, but this game felt really incomplete (which was to be expected, since you mentioned that you didn't finish). The movement could've been improved (especially going over those bridges, it takes some time to get on them).

Donutttt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I like it. Nice work, especially for a first ld game.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

YES! INSTRUCTIONS! THANK YOU!
Aside from that, there really wasn't much indeed, and a room to enter the bridge seemed to be very, very narrow. Also, with the main character having only two directions it looked a bit grotesque when walking left or right. ^^"

In that sort of game I strongly suggest using grid-aligned movement aaand maybe making it a tiny little bit faster. That really would help, especially with them bridges.

Good luck with the next time. ^^"

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Thank you for participating in Ludum Dare. While unfinished, this is a great first attempt and I hope we'll see you again next time in December. :)

Kojan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:31pm

I really liked the concept ! Nice use of the theme.
Good job for a first entry ;)
It would be great if the character could move diagonally too.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Pretty short, agree with the other comments that the bridge was a bit too narrow but good idea and solid first effort! Good job!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Great innovation, cool game. Good job!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Not a bad first entry. :) I think some sort of visual feedback when flipping switches would have been good, but in general it worked as a game.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Good try!!. For a first ludum dare it was not bad. The two levels were easy, once you found that ghost wouln't cross the ghost bridge, but cross the gap. You ended up with something playable, why not trying to do some after compo levels?

Cash says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:41pm

It was good for a first entry but there were 2 main problems:
-Movements are kind of weird,if you can let the player move up/down and left/right at the same moment it would be great
-You don't say that you can press X to use the switches and you can't understand if you activated one since there are no sounds and the lever doesn't change image

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Hope you had fun with your first LD, it's not a bad first entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]