Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disconnected Keyboard

by Aomeas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This gamer wants to finish his game, and you, little keyboard, must help him!
You have to link the controls to the power to move.
Keep the virtual and the real world connected!

Controls :
All the game is mouse only
Left Click : Drag a wire from +Vcc to the control panel or Move a connected wire
Right Click : Delete a wire
You can add several wires and remove a wire while creating one.

Have fun and try to beat my record : finish the 11 levels in 101.9s! The timer is in the game :3


I used Love2D for the game engine, the sounds were generated thanks to sfxr. Music was also generated, using autotracker-py. Finally, the art was made using Gimp.



Spoiler:
Well, since some people couldn't finish the game, I quickly made a playthrough in case you would like to see the "end" of the game. It has 11 levels.
I'm used to the game so it's not really what the game looks like when someone discovers it but here it is : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RA8GuxyolJk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#36Innovation4.13
#143Fun3.61
#146Overall3.69
#151Theme3.80
#204Humor3.00
#301Audio3.16
#451Mood3.11
#516Graphics3.15

Comments

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:20pm

I really like this! Very challenging.

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58pm

This game is a great example how people make completey different games based on a different approach of the same theme. I really like the idea of controlling the game with PCB connections.
Well Done :)

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Nice! You made something that feels very different from anything else I've played before. Very challenging. Level 3 took several tries but got as far as Level 5 before I put it down. I did stare at the game dumbly for the first few seconds because I didn't understand what the things on the screen represented, but eventually I just started randomly clicking on stuff until I noticed the click/drag wire. The music is groovy, BTW.

Great work! Very unique!

(Love "love". hehe Had to click it.)

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Wow! Awesome! A game where you are the keyboard!
Fits the theme (more on the Connected side than on the Worlds side, but anyways), simple but nice graphics, cool music that is not annoying, original control scheme that made me think of Etch-a-Sketch (or Télécran as it's known in France) because you only have the four directions that you have to combine.
My only (minor) gripe is the yellow text on green background in the beginning is really hard to read.
Lots of stars for you!

SenorDiablo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Nice game, I like the mechanic it was good fun to mess around and get used to. The only thing I would like is more level variety but to be honest in 48 hours I don't think that is realistic. Good work, I feel like I have learnt a lot about what a keyboards life is like:)

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Thanks for the feedback! :3
About the tutorial and story screens, a colorblind friend of mine said he couldn't read, so I changed the color of the font, it must be better to read them now.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13pm

it's a good game man

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very well made game, challenging and fun. Nice arts. The mecanics are a little frustrating but good for the LD. Good job.

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04pm

super original, great use of the theme and a nice polished game..great

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Unique and fun game. Pretty difficult though. Its hard to look at both places at once and draw the lines accurately. The graphics and sounds are pretty good, though nothing super special. Very interesting idea though.

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Great idea with the controls, but the game itself doesn't really make good use of it, IMHO. I would definitely try this for another game type!

Peping says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Original take on the topic! Game is challenging but not particularly hard. I'm determined to beat it!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50am

Fun idea. I like the electronics aspect.

mtrc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nice idea! A little tricky with the controls (I was playing on a trackpad though) but I didn't rate it down for that - a really good little game.

nolife-team says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Really loving the idea behind the game. Really fun to play! Congrats! :)

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice entry, loved the background story! And interesting mechanic, but you should add more level variety or more mechanics if you do a post-LD version! Nice!

eott says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:00pm

I think I'll never write a movement script again without thinking about this fun little game.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Really good, I liked your interpretation. I couldn't go past level 8, but I don't blame your levels :P
It was a bit of trial and error for me, as I used the fastest controls to get a glimpse of the level first then tried to use them to go past the courses, and I can see this kind of mechanic on a mobile game, just make more levels and a level-selection screen then launch it :D

Aomeas says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Well, since some people couldn't finish the game, I quickly made a playthrough :3
I'm used to the game so it's not really what the game looks like when someone discovers it but here it is : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RA8GuxyolJk

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

Difficult, but fun!

disease says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

Great concept executed very well!

Yoni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Very nice game, but the instructions were not clear (it took a minute to understand what I'm supposed to do), and only when I saw the playthrough video I realized you could change existing connections...

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Good take on the theme :D

rjhelms says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:51pm

This would be great on a touch interface - trying to make the connections with a mouse was a little fiddly.

Awesomely unique interpretation of the theme, and a fun little game to boot.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:29am

Awesome innovation, very smart! Great graphics, great sounds, and great job overall!

Logan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:19am

This is a really clever concept! I thought it was just the right level of challenge, and was surprised at how many levels there ended up being. Nicely done!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:39pm

The innovation is strong in this one. ;)

Really hard, but also quite fun.

I nearly beat your record with 397.5 seconds.

Aomeas says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:44pm

So close :D

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:32am

I like this - it's a really neat idea with some seriously tricky gameplay. And this is a take on the theme I definitely haven't seen before, which is always a nice plus. Good job! : )

Lythom says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Hi there, here's some feedback about your game.

What I liked :
- Fun ! challenging but not too hard by being permissive, it's pretty well balanced and the learning curve is good for the game.
- 108.8 sec. Pretty sure I miss very little to beat you =D Let's rush through the holes at highspeed and get a no-care win xD
- Audio, theme idea and overall realization are good.

What imo could be improved :
- The Font is very tiny and the contrast isn't good enough for reading if you don't have good eyes.
- Graphics would be better being bound dtronger to you environnement. Is the moving dot an electron moving on a circuit ? let's show it more explicitely !

Overall a good entry, thanks for the game =)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]