Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Triplets

by chowee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello fellow jammers and non-jammers !

In this game you play as punk triplets. Each one of them has been sent to a separate world but the link they share between brothers is too strong to be broken. All actions of one brother are also taken by the other two. 3 characters are sharing the control inputs but each world is different. You need to bring the 3 brothers from one end to the other of their respective world in 10 seconds to win.

Just use the arrow keys to move and jump and avoid all obstacles and ennemies.

This game is not much as it was more a way for me to get back into gamedev after a few years break and play with Unity. AND IT WAS GREAT ! Can't wait to start doing some more polished stuff !

Anyway, I hope you'll enjoy this for more than 20 secondes ;)

NOTE : Windows and LInux versions are available but not tested. The Mac and Web versions have been verified and should work properly. I hope at least :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#464Fun3.14
#528Audio2.75
#623Theme3.17
#801Innovation2.83
#876Humor1.80
#940Overall2.80
#969Mood2.45
#1002Graphics2.35
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

I really liked this! The level was short and hard enough to be just the right amount of frustrating. Definitely a game I'd play more of.

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Nice game, congrats!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Love the mechanic here. The knock back on the bullets really makes it work.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Greay graphics and music, good job overall!

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Good job!

Rehacked says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:03am

in windows link dropbox gave me 404 error and said the file has been moved or deleted.

chowee says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Thanks Rehacked !

I don't know what happened but it's back online :)

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Wow I really enjoyed this. Clever mechanic.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:04am

I think the game could be impproved because when you play, things goes too fast and you can't switch concentration between all characters. To win, you have to find the one who got the most difficult way.

But well done.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Short, fun and I must express how much I really really like this particular take on the theme. Great minds think alike, possibly? :D

My only criticism is that the random bullets might not be the best way to create difficulty here, since it's not entirely uncommon that they screw you over repeatedly as you try to jump one of the gaps. Maybe make the bullets a bit slower, and make it possible to jump on top of bullets à la Mario so they can be used as a tool as well as an obstacle? Here's hoping to see you in future LDs. ; )

Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Fine short game. Good luck with making some more polished stuff :)

RaycoSantana says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Loved this one, so much fun!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Time pressure at its best. Short and difficult entry. The most difficult task was jumping the gap in the blue world. I feel that if you don't do it at the first attempt, then bullets will make it impossible. I could end the first stage twice, of 10 attempts. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]