Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Salvation

by 43iscoding - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Space puzzle game made in plain HTML5/Javascript.

The mysterious void approaches our galaxy, devouring everything on its way. No one can fight it, so the only way to survive - escape. Achieve the salvation by setting up warp tunnels between planets to reach wormhole.

Click on planets to select and connect them with warp tunnels.

Update (26/08/14): Fixed issue when you cannot both lose and win. Fixed progress not being saved
Update (28/08/14): Fixed crashes on Firefox
_____________________________________________________

Keyboard shortcuts:

* Space/Enter - Proceed
* Escape - Go to main menu
* R - Restart
* M - Toggle mute

_____________________________________________________

Used tools:
IDE: Webstorm
Sounds: bfxr.net
Art: GIMP 2/MS Paint

_____________________________________________________

P.S. This is my first Ludum Dare, I hope everyone enjoys it ^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Theme4.12
#107Fun3.69
#161Overall3.66
#198Innovation3.65
#241Mood3.39
#509Graphics3.16
#528Audio2.75
#625Humor2.23

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

Nice game! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/aac43JwG3FQ

rohin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00am

Very impressive! I would be more than happy to pay to download this for iOS/Android.

acidave says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00am

I want more levels! Now! Great idea, nice graphics, surely more challenging at the levels you are going to deliver soon, right? ;)

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59am

I like this idea very much, reminds me of Galcon, but takes it one puzzely step further.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:20am

Thanks for feedback, guys :) I will definitely make a post-mortem with more levels and game mechanics!

Any of you beat 'all-perfect' yet? I tried to make it really hard to do :P

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

This is neat! I got stuck on level 7 though. Will have to read the postmortem to find out the secret.. :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

Haha I figured out the trick! Awesome :D

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05am

Awesome! I love this concept and this usage of theme! Great job! :D

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07am

I really enjoyed this! I like how you can link planets to other planets :D

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

That's a really fun game. It's literally based on the theme haha. Plays out well, and the sound effects add to the gameplay. Good job overall.

OmegaVesko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Interesting game.

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

This is the game I've most enjoyed playing so far. I loved the level where everything seemed hopeless. With more levels I would play this for hours :D

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

nice, well done :)

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

That is a really cool game there. I liked the strategy element and I liked how the bridges worked along with the element of danger.

That said, it was really cool to see those planets engulfed by that wave and they change texture to match.

The sounds were cool, the music could use a little more polish but all in all, it was quite a lovely game with cool mechanics XD.
Oh, and you totally should do that post mortem.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

It was a nice game. The one thing that was slightly confusing at first was that connection/planet was not lost until noise-wave had reached the planet's center. I would guess that as soon as touching is what most would expect.

That apart. I got some way and then I got stuck. Nice game though.

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Wow, really good!
I liked the pixilated art and the sound effects worked well - spacey and didn't get repetitive despite being heard often.
I also like the Motivational Poster style bits at the bottom of each level. Would work well on a touch screen...
Totally expand it for android or something! There are tones of other mechanics that could be added.

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50pm

nice concept and traps!

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

A very interesting DOS-like Galcon-like game!
Check your LD account, it says it doesn't exist...

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Cool game, it's a pity there are just 7 levels, feels like a tutorial more than a game.

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Loved it! Great gameplay and it fit with the theme (but remember planet != world). Audio was fine. Only wish there was more levels. And that's probably really good for a LD48 game!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Great idea, works pretty well. I got a bug after 5th level (I should have won but nthn has happend) but gameplay is very pleasurable. Great job :)

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01pm

nice one. really enjoyed the learning curve. there is always a way :D

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Nice concept. The winning point is very calculated. This is the exact interpretation of the theme :-)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

will see you in LD31 too :)
One of the games that actually entertain!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Didn't run for me (chrome, mac)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Very nice game! It's fun to play and it's well calibrated. That level 7 was tough! :)

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

simple concept but the art, sound and exectution from being a run of the mill transfer game. Very well done!

jurnacsr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Now this is a very cool game - great use of the theme. Fantastic setting and mood - I really felt like I was saving people. Great job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07pm

I haven't rated this yet as it got stuck on the level select screen. It made sound effects when I clicked above the "select a level text".

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Ooof. The last level took a bit of thinkin' till I realised the obvious :p Nice little game & some good mechanics & graphics. Could easily see some more gimmicks to the game too. Good job!

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Got perfect on every level but level 2. My hands are not fast enough for that level XD.

Nice job! Very easy to pick up and play, but very engaging at the same time.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Very interesting idea! Last level was quite challenging.

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Pretty fun game and I made it all the way through after a few attempts at level 7. What I didn't really understand is why certain planets could transfer to the wormhole and others couldn't. It would also have been helpful to have the multipliers constantly visible. Having them on hover didn't allow for time to react in some situations based on the multipliers. Otherwise, it was a great game.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Very fun, but too short ;)

Fun gimmick in the last level - would love to play more of this game.

Looking forward to the post-mortem!

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Absolutely excellent game. Very nice levels, very good wasteland feel, very well done.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07am

This was fun and I enjoyed the variation in puzzles.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:42am

I loved the gameplay. The art and sound was really great. I really liked the rainbow colored noise effect washing over everything.

Nothing seemed out of place, the game seemed to be very deliberate and planned out. A+

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56am

Could not get level 7 but fun game!

Meganopteryx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:14am

This is a really fun game! It is quite a challenge, and pretty well designed, even though it's simple! The time constraints made it exciting.

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48am

Nice, kind of reminds me of Eufloria a little. Very unique though. Definitely would like to see this expanded on more, a full game could be interesting.

Appocket says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37am

Nice work, Level 7 was really challenging.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49am

8/10 Great gameplay, really neat

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52am

Joe Williamson, which OS/Browser did u use?

haveric, all planets have range, which is visible when you select them. Thanks for suggestion, I will probably rework that GUI

And huge thanks to all of you, guys! I just am overwhelmed with amount of warm responses! You have no idea how happy I am :)

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45am

Really interesting concept!

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39am

Perfect use of theme, excellent intelligent gameplay. Loved it!

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Loved the idea and gameplay .. reminds me of of a similar strategy game ... :)

Alexander says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33pm

This is great! I think the look is cool and lots of strategy to keep it interesting.

martim00 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Very fun and addictive!

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16pm

I really like this game. Although I beat level 5 but it didn't give me the victory/defeat window, it was just stuck. Very cool take on the theme and well done.

Yword says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Interesting and unique gameplay! Well done!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Really liked this one.

Alucard J says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Great game, but too short (I wanted to play more!). Panic attack at the start of each level. Really enjoyed this, hope you develop this further with lots more levels. Perhaps you can always show the transfer rate at all times (not just on hover), and also which transfers are currently active (an arrow on the line). Well Done =]

markusfisch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Nice idea and pretty hard. I'm stuck in level 7 too. Quick, addictive game.

sorle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50am

GOOD GAME! theres nothing more to say.

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:25am

Great stuff! Pretty nice gameplay.

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:45am

Nice one. I had also problems figuring out what to do in level 7. In Firefox the levels didn't load sometimes, but this can be fixed by reloading. The mechanics are smooth and the game challenging. The graphics are really great. Nice for your first LD entry.

Majko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:45am

Nice! So simple idea and so entertaining. But little buggy. I wasn't able to finish this game, after 5th level it became bugged somehow, I couln't press any button, select level.. nothing. Even refresh of page didn't help.

Digiraze says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:47am

Enjoyed that, nice last level!

naksrifati says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Awsome gameplay, made it to the end) I wanna more) It is addictive)

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Nice concept and fun gameplay. I think it should be "double click" not "click" in the tutorial texts. Btw I think the difficulty is high.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Nice game! :) Waiting for post-compo version!

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:28pm

had some troubles clicking the level numbers and the planets.
still i would love to have more levels for this game! graphics are simple but the gameplay is awesome! good job!

Otrora says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57pm

It can get a bit tricky on later levels. But it is a awesome literally take on the theme. Great job!

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Like it !
The player could be able to restart the level when needed.
I don't stop trying to drag/drop the link between the planets, instead of clicking on one planet and then on a second one to create the transfer. Maybe a clue to improve the ergonomic. I go back in finish the last level

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:48pm

ajopart, there are keyboard shortcuts working (they are listed on this page, however not displayed in game, my bad). I will definitely add drag/drop support, thank you for suggestion.

CatOnMars, what do you mean? there is no double click in this game at all. And yeah, I tried making 'perfect' really hard to achieve.

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Put this on iPad! So addicting!

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Really fun game. I liked the void effect taking over the planet and the transfer mechanics. Each level introduced a new element and the learning curve was just right. Disconnecting planets was a bit of a pain though, maybe make it so that you can break connections by swiping across the line like you're cutting a rope.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Also maybe add an effect to show the direction of transfer and which connections are currently active seeing as only one direction of transfer is allowed at the same time.

akymos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Good job!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Can not select the level on firefox =/

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Kerdelos, sorry, currently the game is only stable on Chrome. I'm working on it.

mechabit, thank you for suggesting swiping. That's really interesting and convenient method.

RookMage says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I too, want more levels and an android version. That would be amazing.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Good news everyone. Salvation can now be played on Firefox!

ming_tea says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29pm

This was really clever and for some reason I found the encroaching wall of TV noise really scary.

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02pm

A simple and fun game! Nice select of sounds and volume, smooth UI, cool graphics.

John Drury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:15am

Loved it! See potential in a mobile app :D

Mapboy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

Such a neat game mechanic - the planet multipliers!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:22am

Cool. Straightforward and cool. A nice little game.

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:23am

Great Game! Very interesting mechanics.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16am

Wow.
This was a fun idea.
But incredibly hard.
Like Dark Souls hard.

Nice work.
Should be a good iPhone game.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:18am

Well done. Simple mechanics that work well. I managed to beat it!

Makio64 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

There is a bug on retina screen, the width/height of the canvas looks too large. You have to divise it by 2 for retina screen.
- yeah fucking mac user i know ! ;)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Makio64, I'll try to fix it tonight. The problem is I have no way to test it tho :/

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Really nice concept!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

My first thought was, "oh no, not another literal take on the theme", but I am glad that I persevered as I really enjoyed this.

I found level 7 particularly tough, but eventually scraped through.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

I liked that game a lot, mechanics were easy to grasp, and you can probably come up with very challengin levels. Good job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

That was a very tight game, great gameplay and game logic. I was ecstatic playing the last level, now I want more!!

shatterhand says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Finished the game. Pretty cool, the pace is awesome. Loved the sound of the game. At first it looked boring and the puzzles were easy, but then it became really interesting.

It definitely needs more puzzles, pretty good game overall!

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Great game, easy controls, clever puzzles!

vandriver says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:02pm

really solid. when i'm wishing there were more levels, you did a good job on your ludum dare.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:46am

this was actually a really well executed game, and very fun. Nice job, and I will be waiting for the post-compo, see you in LD31 as well! :)

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:04am

This game really suits the theme, and is really fun! Great stories, and tips on each level, that helps to the game itself, well done!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:44am

Well, I spent about 45 minutes on that last level. Damn your eyes!

Xaychru says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:04am

Nice game mechanics, I wish there were more levels, cause I really enjoyed the game! :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

Sorry, I have a big screen macbook but I could only see the top-left corner of your game and couldn't even find any kind of button to click to start :(

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Cool game, I managed to achieve perfect in every level, the second was really hard but I love tough challenges. Good job.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:01pm

The idea of saving people through a portal is great. Mechanic is also great. However the game lacks other stuff like atmosphere, music and graphics. It's also quite short. Has potential, you just have to work on it further. I liked that planets are randomly colored.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:03pm

I like it!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Very well thought out game mechanics, I enjoyed playing that!

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Really cool idea, but pretty hard at times. I still liked it though!

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

There is a glitch. One time I died and I could not restart level.

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:46am

Very interesting take on things; would love to see more levels out of this!

esayitch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:03am

Very cool idea and a neat puzzle. I actually liked the graphics, as they were consistent throughout. The sfx also added a dimension of immediacy to the mood. Overall a very solid entry.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:13am

FanTASTIC game, great use of theme, very servicable graphics, helpful sound, really solid gameplay. Had a lot of fun with this, would recommend to a friend. =) Superb work for 48 hours!

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:24pm

really nice idea and use of the connecting world theme, good job!

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:32pm

This is a great fun entry! I love the effects and the way you have to route people around depending on the different constraints is a great idea. I've read a lot of Peter F Hamilton (void trilogy, for example) so this setting has a huge resonance with me! Thanks for sharing, hope the galaxy makes it...

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Cool concept! I wish there was more levels! Nice art too.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:32pm

5 starts! When the white noise crept upon each planet I felt engaged. At the last two levels, I felt a sense of sacrifice. If you continue to develop this, I'd be curious what other choices I could consider to quickly plan an escape. And have you considered clarifying the victory and defeat left and right arrow buttons? They confused me.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:43pm

ethankennerly, I'm not sure I understand what do you mean talking about arrow buttons :( Could you clarify please?

jimmypaulin, I'm extremely happy you enjoyed my game that much ^^

Thanks, everyone, for your support, reviews and suggestions! <3

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:20am

nice concept

MintArcade says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Very very cool game. Intensive and rewarding!

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Solid Entry. I like that the mechanics are metered out over the first few levels.

adharris says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:25am

I really liked it. The later levels that require quick clicking were kinda frustrating on my laptop touchpad. I could see some complex puzzles being made on this idea.

43iscoding says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:35am

I actually tried playing the game on touchpad aswell - that's really hardcore! I'm going to tune down difficulty a bit for non-perfect score, so the game will be pretty playable even on touchpad :)

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:16pm

This is excellent. Classic example of really good level design. I managed to save everyone after a bunch of retries! I would seriously consider porting this to the mobile platform. It would do really well I think.

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Nice game! I specially liked the last stage, where going back means going forward more easily :D Needs more sound and music, but graphics are fine. Good mechanic.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:26am

Fun, managed to finish it. Liked the hopeless level :)

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:47pm

With safari, firefox and chrome under OS/X it doesn't work...

alhvi says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Nice game, took me a while to finish the last level, great job!

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Interesting concept, and the puzzles were really well-designed.

silentlamb says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:03pm

After first 2 levels I thought: omg, game about clicking twice and waiting for the progress bar to fill up. But I've decided to give it time to suprise me and it was really a suprise! Nice puzzle game, I've really enjoyed it.

defacid says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:05pm

This was surprisingly great! The screenshots made the game appear boring, but it was definitely fun. Great job! I played it all the way through and followed you on twitter!

TimtheBo says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Great game, the last level was quite well made!

elefantopia says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:45am

Very cool game and graphics (fun watching the void approach as the numbers count down the transfer). Was stuck at level 7 though.

oxysoft says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Very nice take on the idea, this stood out from the rest

geometrix says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Hah, dig that last level! Seems a bit cruel sometimes, but I really enjoyed it. Would love to see more of this, as well as an expansion of the gameplay mechanisms. There's definitely some potential here.

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:25pm

I played this game and liked it a lot. I haven't seen this exact puzzle mechanism and it was great how by combining few simple rules you could create very different type of puzzles to solve.

Add 93 levels and this is pretty close to being a full solid game.

Well done!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Nov 14, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Cute little game. The last level 7 is the one that made me think and work a bit. You sorta have to change directions because that first planet on the left has the really fast transfer rate.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]