Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Words

by Teesquared - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What is it like to be John Cleese, Emma Watson, or Notch? Connect words to enter their worlds through the social network.

In Connected Words, you arrange words to try to figure out what people are saying.

NOTE: This game can be pretty hard. If you get a score over 100, please post and let me know. That is awesome.

BUG: Emoji characters show up as blanks.

* Mobile version is post compo with lots of changes. It is FREE with no ads and no DRM (except if required by platform). Please play and review the web flash entry for the compo but I'd love to hear what you think about the mobile version too. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#32Innovation4.16
#191Humor3.05
#323Theme3.56
#352Overall3.41
#486Fun3.12
#858Mood2.64
#950Graphics2.46
#1006Audio1.20

Comments

pythong says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

I played this longer than I thought I would. nice concept, a bit more animation for a fanciness factor would be great

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Nice idea. I like how it fits into the Connecting Worlds theme in many, many ways.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Surprisingly addictive with the 'real world' link. Makes we want to try using the Twitter API, so thank you for that also!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Nice mechanics.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42am

I liked this game, but this was too hard! Great job though. :D

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:47am

Interesting idea, I got pretty hooked quickly. I like text puzzles like this.
The game matched up really well to the theme! Great stuff

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:02am

Nice job! It's interesting to figure out the way people talk on twitter when you look at a tweet all jumbled up like that.

shimage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14am

It seems some amazing technology is used. I am not English speaker so this will be training of language for me :)

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:07am

Great entry! Fantastic and really original idea.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:08am

Very different to other games entered but still fun nonetheless :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10am

Another typo theme interpretation, which turned out actually pretty fun and playable. Simple and addicting gameplay

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:32am

different

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Very interesting gameplay! Kinda hard with too much hashtags and links. Pretty cool entry!

miwuc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very fun innovative game. It really makes you appreciate how nonsensical some (most?) of these tweets are.
Definitely a favorite. Great job!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Occasionally I would get tweets like "@JamieFoxx [LINK]" which were... not difficult. But this was surprisingly fun. Graphics could be less minimal, though: it looks like a very boring Jeopardy ripoff atm. I got up to 109 before I failed, which is apparently on the high end?

Teesquared says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:11pm

@Thingo Studios yeah I think if you beat a score 100 in this one that is pretty awesome. There is no difficulty scaling so you need some luck to do it.

phi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:42pm

I like the cool, innovative idea and the connection with the real world. I generally like when games are made using unusual technologies, but I'm afraid this one didn't keep me interested for very long. It's awesome and fits the theme very well, even though the gameplay isn't the most exciting.

SK16Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Haha really really fun and addicting game :D You should really consider making it an app (before someone else does it), I think that could get to be the next popular quiz-app!
Score: 83 :D

Xgor says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Great idea and game.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Ooh I love word puzzles, bookmarked to play some more later :D
Very original idea (as far as I'm aware), well done.

skiddings says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Surprisingly fun!

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:34am

Amazing concept!

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:18am

Good feedback when you get it wrong.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:22am

hahaha awesome!! now I want to know how did you do that. Well done!

jprogman says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:10am

Lol, nice way to turn Twitter into a game!
"Connected Words"... I got it. :)

Beard says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:10am

I liked that this game is no where close to how I interpreted the theme. Nice work on coming up with something original, and great use of the theme. This is deceptively difficult.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Surprisingly interesting game, I like it.

Scored 98, so close. :P

barryrowe says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:00am

This is an interesting concept. it would have been nice to see more animation and some audio.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]