Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Discovery

by TeamOnBack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After two previous Ideas for this jam I finally came onto my third idea and decided to go with that.

Not really a full game ,but more of a prototype of what could turn out to be a sandbox ship management type game. Probably continue on this after and see what I can accomplish at another date.

Launch: Means to navigate towards that planet :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#649Innovation3.04
#708Theme3.04
#734Graphics2.84
#1060Overall2.60
#1068Mood2.17
#1130Fun2.12
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Slooowpoke says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Wasn't sure how to win exactly. Iron collection felt really slow which I didn't enjoy. I think its a pretty solid start and a bit more polish it would look awesome! Better than a lot of the other games on here considering it was you're third idea? I presume you started a bit late. I was a little confused at the start about how to launch my ships to other planets, I think changing "Launch" to something like "Navigate to" maybe.

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

@slooowpoke Thanks for the suggestion. Its not really ment to have a win state as it's more of a sandbox type game. I plan on having AI enemies and you have abilities while your ship is flying that you can activate to keep your self alive. Then have some sort of an economy on each planet would also be a nice touch.

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Sweet, you went for pretty much the same concept I had :) I didn't get to implementing resources at all, but I think there's great potential in something like this

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01pm

@bakwards Thanks :D

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27pm

It's a great start, but I had troubles to find the first planet... Maybe indicate where they are to find them more easily

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

couldn't really travel anywhere, was stuck on the first planet

buckslice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Cool idea, I like. For some reason it felt fun just to visit the random planets. Would be cool if you added in some rare things to find. There should be more resource management games where the main objective is not just kill some other faction. Good job, you should keep working on it!

AlexanderTeaH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25pm

An interesting entry, but not very fun.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Interesting idea, could be a great full game

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Hi there. Good job on finishing one of your ideas, I for you with that frustration part-way through...deciding whether to change direction. Your game looks like a good basis to move forwards, a fleet of small ships would be nice!

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36am

Kept smashing into planets because explosions are fun..!
Nice concept, good luck with further development..!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:35pm

"I think changing "Launch" to something like "Navigate to"" - adding it to description would be helpful, I just spend 5 minutes trying to lunch rocket from my planet and manipulate mouse somehow.. and still seeing like it's going back to my planet..
After that, nice concept!

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:07pm

@Xeke_Death Pretty sure I spent about 3 hours myself smashing into planets :D

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Everyone coming to checkout my game, Check out some of my other stuff currently in alpha funding :D http://www.desura.com/games/gem-blaster

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]