Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

To Hell and back

by Shujal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If you can't get the applet version to work, try the executable JAR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#615Graphics3.00
#978Innovation2.53
#1092Fun2.27
#1123Overall2.47
#1133Theme2.07
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

vicious_br says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Error in java :(
Put the exe, I wanna play this game

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Tried to run this, but ran into some security setting that blocked it. No idea what's going on but might just be my end of things. Maybe I just don't run enough Java browser games to be setup properly.

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Loving the retro graphics!
I miss the ability to strafe, and a crosshair (sometimes, I didn't know, if I hit something)
Nice game concept, too :)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Can't run it, even after updating Java.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Got na error on the game :(

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06pm

can't run :(

the graphics look interesting though

colludium says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Couldn't get the web link to work (said source unavailable...). Looks interesting; I'll check back later.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:13pm

I like the idea here, but controlling the game is a major pain because of how mouselook works. Could have used some sound effects as well, just so you would better know when you hit something, or when you are hit. Still a good effort.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08pm

The looking controls were a bit off as well was scaling, but it was pretty fun.

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Impressive code, but having to center the mouse every time I turn got tiring and the ability to strafe would have been useful.

nilstastic says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:40pm

The good: Nice raycasting engine (i think)
The bad: Controls were lacking, hard time steering.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]