Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds - The Adventure

by snake5 - Jam Entry

- a snake5 production -

===================================
= C O N N E C T E D W O R L D S =
===================================

---------------------- readme -----

> Description

- This is a stealth game, so you must find a way around
turrets to your objective that is the end of the level.

> Requirements

- To play the game, you should have a graphics card that
fully supports DirectX 9.

> Controls

W/A/S/D - move around
E - disable turret (only near turrets)
T - switch worlds (only on portals)
Q - quit game (in pause menu)
R - restart game (in pause menu)
Escape/P - pause/unpause the game

> Credits

Game code
& texture editing
& 3D modeling
& soundtrack
& audio editing
& SGScript scripting engine (http://www.sgscript.org/)
& SGScript / SDL2 graphics framework
& sgs-audio OpenAL-based audio library for SGScript
& sgs-bullet Bullet Physics wrapper for SGScript
--- Arvids Kokins (snake5)

Using the following code libraries (inside other libraries):
SDL - https://www.libsdl.org/
libpng - http://www.libpng.org/pub/png/libpng.html
libjpeg - http://www.ijg.org/
zlib - http://www.zlib.net/
FreeType 2 - http://www.freetype.org/freetype2/
OpenAL - http://www.openal.org/
Bullet Physics library - http://bulletphysics.org/

> Game tips

- The goal of the game is *not* to be hidden from turrets,
and sometimes the game requires you to run in front of them.
- There's usually more than one path towards the end. Look
around before proceeding.
- Turrets give about a second until they start shooting and
following. After that, break line of sight or increase distance
to get them off your back.

> Technical tips

- If you want to change the resolution, here's your options:
-- resize the window while the game is paused
-- modify game/config.cfg
--- same thing goes for volume control, fullscreen mode, vsync

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#302Mood(Jam)3.24
#405Overall(Jam)3.19
#417Audio(Jam)2.98
#424Graphics(Jam)3.28
#458Theme(Jam)3.02
#487Innovation(Jam)2.85
#494Humor(Jam)2.12
#511Fun(Jam)2.81

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Why you no Mac?

neosam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Hi, I could not start it because libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll could not be found.

MercuryLegba says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Doesn't seem to run. I'm not even getting an error message, clicking the .exe and nothing happens.

snake5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Andrew Adams: couldn't find time for it, maybe next time I'll get around to it.

neosam: thanks, fixed!

snake5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02pm

MercuryLegba: I've uploaded a version with improved error handling now, if there was any 'invisible' error before, it should now be visible.

gene-z says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I can´t start the game

snake5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

gene-z: are there any specific errors or does the game just not work? It would also help if you could tell me which OS and graphics card you're trying to run it on. :)

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Decent and good looking game, but please consider using checkpoints next time :)

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Really cool, I really liked the look and feel. Good job this!

someone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Runs fine in Linux using Wine.
Movement was far too slow. It takes forever to get anywhere.

Vennril says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54pm

I really liked the overall atmosphere, and the puzzles were clever too. +1 for the little cutscenes. Well done! :)

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14am

Very impressive look and feel for a game jam. The "cutscenes" added a lot too.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26am

The concept was pretty cool though I feel the execution could have been done a bit better.
I never really felt in control or like I planned my path, I just sort of ended up taking it.
Main suggestion would be to have a different method of determining when you were targeted by a turret-I think if you had to actively try and see were turrets were instead of just having a warning pop up regardless of the turrets location it could have increased the atmosphere a lot more, though to make the result of that (being hit more) less frustrating checkpoints would definitely be necessary-the underground areas would be perfect for them.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

This is one of the few games that I actually was able to play without reading the instructions. Very well explained and I liked the stealth aspects.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18pm

The game worked on my system but crashed my sound card. Apart from that well done, but I was not completely sure what the goal was.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Very nice game, saving could have been really cool though :)

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Nice concept for a game, being able to sneak past turrets and all that although there was only one issue that I had to deal with when playing this. The map looks the same everywhere so it is kinda easy to get lost. It was a nice idea to make the other world underground to solve that issue. Perhaps some random foliage on the surface would be cool.

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Wow, you programmed all these by yourself? That's amazing! However, the game was a little bit too laggy for me to play, but I got through anyway. Well, a very nice game, but I wished there would be more... :P

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07pm

It is normal that you can climb every mountain? Anyway, I like the graphics and music

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Pretty impressed about how much you have managed to pull of in the short time frame. Having the camera control taken away from the player is something I generally dislike in games, but in the case LD it does make the game feel more "legit" somehow.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:31am

Impressive! It would be lovely if there were checkpoints, so I didn't have to start at the beginning if I died. I love the tutorials, and it's nice that you can skip them. It's easy to get disoriented in this game.

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I like the gameplay a lot, I like this puzzle style, but the music was too repetative for me. Please polish it and make more maps! :D

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Huge work!
Nicely done and pretty shaders.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

This is big. Great job!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:11pm

It had a cool mood throughout, the graphics were tight and I had fun playing it! Good job!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:03pm

You are in todays episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6HuW2Ag0sA

mechabit says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:54pm

not much difference between worlds, it's more like walking into another room or teleporting around the same world, there's also not much planning your route as you can't see much or maintain a position in your head as everything looks so similar and you jump around in portals. It would have been better if you could teleport to a high point to look down on the map or something.

hb3p8 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Cool game. Nice Graphics.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:53am

Cool world, though I thought the portals were fire... XD I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/_5a2Oj9U9sk

doomista says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Nice idea, great work with the engine, I like that

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Neat entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]