Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Impact

by fallingBear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fast paced galactic shooter with a twist.

Controls:
Press I to toggle input method
WSAD or Arrow keys / Mouse = Movement
LMB RMB = Shooting

Tools:
Unity3D
Blender
sfxr

The game is not finished, I would like to spend a little more time on it. If you want so stay updated, follow me on twitter @FallingBear3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#131Graphics3.92
#387Innovation3.38
#391Overall3.37
#422Fun3.20
#508Mood3.05
#674Audio2.48
#776Humor2.00
#1162Theme1.87

Comments

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Love the look of this. Innovative setup for a scrolling shooter however I'm uncertain how this embodies the theme of 'connected worlds'.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Hi thank :) I did not came up with nothing better. The theme in this could be that, the edges of the world are connected unlike in ordinary scrolling shooter.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Wow, 5/5 for gfx.

jurnacsr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

That's a pretty cool concept. More input to process with shots coming from the sides too. I liked the art style too.

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Nice Graphics :D It feels like this spaceshooter on ps3 (don't remmeber name but you ware flying on surface of planets and destroying asteroids aliens nad more)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

This is awesome. Very cool take on a shooter. Definitely difficult, but it's a lot of fun!

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Like Temmy I like the graphics and the "twist" :). But I'm also missing the theme.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Concept looks very promising. But it seems as sketch rather than game. Also can't find connection with theme.

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

I really like the look of the game and the idea of everything rotating around the world

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Very nice idea and pretty good graphics, but I got in a point that it did not came more enemies, also the gameplay had some lack of feedback.

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Would have loved to see some impact effects on my ship. With so much happening on the screen it's hard to notice when I get damaged :(

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Cool game. I really like the visuals

sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Nice look!

jpmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Good idea, and a fun game, especially when played with the mouse, well done! Slightly weak theme connection though (perhaps it just needs to be explained better).

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Nice artwork.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Neat game, plays well looks well. I think it lacks on the theme but would be a pretty cool game by itself.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52pm

The graphics are impressively solid, I like the style you ended up with. If you were to continue, I could imagine how you could theme different worlds fairly easily. The sounds got a little repetitive, but having them at all was nice.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Great entry sir! The most pretty i see so far with good challenge!

rantt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Fun game. I like the graphics, and the gameplay is very interesting. The scrolling from the sides was cool concept, didn't see a connection to the theme but maybe I didn't make it far enough.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Lovely visual style and fun concept.

Took me a while to realize that the LMB and RMB shoot different kinds of bullets, but things got easier once I did :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Nice sound and graphics :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51pm

The graphical style worked really nice , and the movement was really fluid. I flipped out when I realized right mouse shot sideways :P

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Very nice graphics. Would like more feedback for when the player's ship gets hit so that you can keep track without having to look up in the corner.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Some how after I reached 1,900 points no enemies came

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:18am

I love the graphics and controls, but it seems to me too slow. Can be improved. Well done ++

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30am

Hi all, thanks for the feedback. After playing the game I noticed, that with few tweeks the game could became much better.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Awesum graphics!

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Gotta love a good old fashioned bullet hell shooter. Really love the look of this game and its cylindrical design. some invincibility frames would be nice, but otherwise really well done.

Alexander says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22pm

This looks really cool, great job with the graphics!

guimonpa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I really like the idea of shooting horizontally in a rotating world, and it also looks great!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Very polished entry, I love the art style. This game is haaaard !!

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Very impresive graphics

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56pm

+gameplay
+different
-no music

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Very nice idea and great realisation!
It's bit difficult, but that's the challange... ;-)
A great piece of work!

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I love how we move on the tower !
Challenging game, very great ! ;)

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Really like the graphics and shader. :)

Pinqu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Good entry, has potential.

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

With a bit more love, this can turn into something great! Love the look of it.

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Pretty fun little shooter. i really liked the 3D graphics, kind of reminds me of fez for some reason. really nice to look at and simple to play. A good entry :)

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23pm

@TheLagPack Thanks a bunch:D FEZ ? Where is the similarity :D

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24pm

@TheLagPack The rotation ?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Very nice game, good idea. The missiles are very agreable to lauch. The art style is great.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Looks and plays very nicely. I'm just missing some explosions :)

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Great twist on a classic genre. Nice graphics.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Simple and it changed everything.

A real to bring shoot them up to 3D.

It lack of many feature of shooters, but the base is AWESOME!

The choice of colors, rendering, and model, is almost perfect. It still lack of a better game feel, because it's a little bit too "heavy" and "slow", but i truly think it's only a tweak.

I think that you could also consider to make other geometry for the track like a cubic one, and also a sphere.

If you bring some Antichamber spirit (because of the look), it could really be a revolutionnary shooter.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Interesting fusion of a schmup and like, Nebulus :D Fairly simple Schump with a reasonable variation of enemies. Like the visual style

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Great presentation and a pretty solid mechanic.

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Interesting shooter concept. Not too sure about the connected to the theme but still a cool game! Good work!! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Yeah the theme is not really present, but the game has a very nice art style and feel to it. Well done!

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42am

What a nice 3D twist on space shooter. I brutally like the idea of infinite lateral movement (also for enemies and bullets) since it opens a lot of possibilities. Also, superb aesthetics for a 48 compo entry. However, as others stated, i neither see connection with the theme.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45am

The tower graphics are awesome, and I liked the look in general a lot. Pretty bullet dodging, though I felt like my spaceship didn't accelerate quite fast enough for the real bullet hell. Needs damage indicators and some connection to the theme! I beat it (at least, there were no more enemies) with 3500 points.

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:51am

The central tower's motion is very nice. This game is quite pretty.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09am

An interesting and challenging game. I like that you can shoot sideways also!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:24am

I like this setup for the classical Galactica space shooter type game.
It looked nice and played well. Thumbs up!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10am

the turning is pretty slick looking, great job man!

jayhof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:25am

This looks great, love the art style. There's also a variety of enemies which is nice. Some music would have been great. If you continue working on it maybe make the ship not stop immediately when I let go of the button. Great game, thank you!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:33am

Really really nice graphics, and the shots coming from the side really added another 'dimension'! (I'll see myself out)

EMAK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:23pm

very goof feeling

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Great graphics and gameplay. Even when I have never liked this king of games, I enjoyed playing this one. Good job!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Very interesting twist to a classical genre. Good job!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Like the looks. You should finish the game.

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Nice looking game and fun (and hard) mechanic. But really need explosion animations: we don't really know when we are shoot, and collide with other ship is a bit ridiculous...

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Excellent graphics and shaders! The enemies were a little difficult, but I managed to make it to the "end" with 2800 points. Listening to the suggested music was fitting for this game.

If you're developing this game further, having powerups would be nice, especially for health and better lasers.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Wow, this game looks and play quite well! While I really enjoyed what's here, I'd be eager to play any revision or expansion of it, since it's going in a really pleasing direction. Also, I assumed connected worlds in this case was the world of your ship 'connecting' with the world of the invaders ;)

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Looks very 60's pop art.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:47am

Love the visuals! Definitely want to see where goes in the future - it's a really unique take on a scrolling shooter

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Cool! This has a lot of potential

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Nice idea and look. I like 3d bullets.

fil00dl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Really nice graphics!
Also, the game is really pleasant to play.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Really nice the game design! And graphics!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:36am

The art style is cool, and the twist is interesting. Needs music badly!

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:35am

Interesting take on the bullet hell shooter.

Natman says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:50am

Really good work on this! The core mechanic is really interesting and I can sense it has a lot of potential for further exploration. I'm excited to see that you're still working on it, so I'm going to give some detailed suggestions/ideas I have.

* The aesthetics are impressive for 48 hours but obviously they could still use some work. I suggest you add explosions and some techno music at the least.
* I can totally imagine your game with some visually pleasing 3D backgrounds like the BIT.Trip games have: http://gameitall.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/btr21.jpg
* I think you could squeeze a lot more mechanical variation out of the central cylinder. For example: protruding walls/spires for the player to crash into. These could also form tunnels and all kinds of other obstacle patterns. I'm thinking along the lines of Super Hexagon. You could also put enemy spawners in spots on the cylinder, or geisers that periodically spray lava upwards.
* When the level is rotating, the protrusions of the cylinder render with line shading that sometimes looks ugly. You might want to try and polish that:
http://imgur.com/FecJ2Rk
* Other traditional shmup features could also improve your game, like health pickups, gun powerups, flight powerups, more variation in enemy types, etc.

When I was playing, after I survived for a while the enemies just stopped coming. I assume you know about this a bug and it exists because the game is unfinished?

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:35am

Rather innovative 3d shooter and a good selection of enemies. However it feels difficult to control and avoid incoming bullets. Keep up development, it will be good to see it finished!

FXCesinha says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

I love it. the shader was awesome!

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:17am

Wow! Way to put a "spin" on the genre :)

twintrite says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:39pm

The visuals are pretty neat. The game itself plays ok but the controls imo aren't responsive enough. Good idea with the spinning ground.

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Great, really great work. Graphics are cool. And I like this idea of perspective for a shmup.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Really nice job. Low marks for theme, but everything else was high. Awesome game.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Love the graphics and the concept, good job!

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:04pm

nice graphics and great rolling world idea.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Wow I love this idea: bullet hell on a cylinder! Also loved the halftone shader. Not much connection to the theme though. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]