Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Purotekotoru

by Paladin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Important note - If you're a person who *loathes* the idea of a 2 minutes tutorial level and want access to the full gameplay immediately, please press together at the same time the "B""A""N""Z""A""I" keyboard keys on the title screen.

Timestamp note for judges - Reuploded the game post-deadline to fix an issue with the move-o-meters. No feature or asset was added.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#103Humor3.33
#524Fun3.08
#641Innovation3.05
#716Theme3.03
#747Graphics2.81
#847Overall2.92
#864Mood2.63
#933Audio1.77

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Cool game! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/ydSxZiryhsI

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Guess I have a bit of asian blood in me, because I could hold my own against that wave just by myself ;-)

Really cool entry. Despite taking a rather literal approach to the entry, you managed to get rather unique gameplay out of it. Like in many other entries, a piece of music could have made this much better!

SenorDiablo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47pm

very hard

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Nice mechanics..works well and it's very original but the bullets collision isn't good.. only few bullets kill damage you

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Nice mechanics..works well and it's very original but the bullets collision isn't good.. only few bullets damage you

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Fun bullet-hell feel in the first level!

Being a mere mortal, I couldn't fill both move-o-meters using a joypad and keyboard after that though :P

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52pm

After spamming keys for a while I couldn't get the move-o-meter above the second bar. "Tutorial" needs improving. No sound. Did not get to see any gameplay.

Paladin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

@kyyrma - Yeah, really has to cut some good stuff ( notably music, sound and voice acting in Engrish) to make it to the deadline, sorry!
@elkiwydev Actually I borrowed the idea from manic shooters where your hitbox is 1 pixel. You can see it in red in the middle of sprite. The lack of disclosure, however, can lead to confusion.
@Fliynpig5 Yes, sadly indeed. Would be the very first modification if I did a post-compo build.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Why you no Mac?

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Most keyboards can't check more than 4-6 letters at once. Mine is one of those. The game looked like fun but I couldn't complete the two move-o-meters at the same time.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48pm

I tried my damnedest to make it past the move-o-meter but couldn't get past the 2nd bar. READMEs offered no help there. Keybindings were in French maybe? Sorry.

Paladin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Ok, since everybody has an issue with them, smoothened the move-o-meters and reuploaded.

arhpositive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56pm

After almost getting to the point of breaking my keyboard, I skipped tutorial and tried the first level. It's a decent bullet hell implementation. Thank you for your efforts. :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Fun and original game, i like the retro stile of the graphics, good work!!! ;)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35pm

I love the narrative you told. And I love how the worlds we're literally connected :)

Lvyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37pm

The keyboard breaking part makes me think of old days p*rn games :D Made me laugh.

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56pm

I couldn't get past the move metre :c

lucidsheep says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:16am

Interesting mechanic and a good (literal) use of theme! Liked the funny little intro.

goerp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:25pm

First of all: love the 'SPAAAAACE'!

It took me a while to get it, because I played the intro and then the game didn't advance. (the text balloons were still in the air and no enemies coming). After a restart everything worked OK.

Too bad that there was no sound, because it's a nice game.

I couldn't finish the game on my own, but I can't complain about the game being too difficult, because my game is too :D

lekochen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:51am

Very innovative and fun! I loved it!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Very fun, would've loved some sound though.
~funkeh

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Sweet game, got into a cave and started shooting away!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Sorry, wrong window :) No caves in this game. I loved the skip tutorial bit. Managed to meet the other connected planet but died pretty quickly afterwards :(

Cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]