Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Buddinge

by rhmoller - Jam Entry

In this game you control a small cable truck in the city Buddinge.

It is your job to bring fiber to the citizens to connect their little worlds.

The game is written in Typescript and uses the phaser game engine with p2 physics. It was created at the real world gathering at osaa.dk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Humor(Jam)3.18
#142Fun(Jam)3.50
#266Innovation(Jam)3.23
#387Theme(Jam)3.16
#410Mood(Jam)3.04
#434Overall(Jam)3.15
#476Audio(Jam)2.81
#608Graphics(Jam)2.81
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07pm

That was cool. Loved the sound effects. :D

chongdashu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Had quite a bit of fun!

TinyHat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11pm

I liked it overall, although I wish the car would have been a bit easier to control ^^

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Haha this is funny... like the way the houses are shaking :D Cool. There are upgrades... like the cable mechnics :D Cool arcade game!

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Great job Jacob and co. Very fun to play!
Also appreciated the neat rope physics :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Original idea, well executed, too (them shaking houses XD) though I guess I'd prefer the environment to be not so grid-aligned if the car movement isn't, either. ^^"

Glaydur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Definitely a fun game. I wish the controls were a bit more tight though.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Fun! I like the shaking houses and this anoying car allways hits my cable :)

hogtrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Control is nice. Fx good too. Nice game.

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Wow that was really hard. I think the game should be a more forgiving. Thanks

suve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:00am

The steering is hard as hell, but that only adds to the retro climate of this game. I especially loved the random trucks getting tangled in the cable. A very fine and fun entry.

Nepoxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

I really enjoyed this! And the source is available! Awesome!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Instructions would be nice... either on that page or in-game

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Neat game and innovative idea. A bug I noticed: the amount of cable you have left doesn't actually matter. If you hold space between the two houses, you still connect them.

elemel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Really cool!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:13am

The car eventually got easier to control as I got more familiar with it. I kept running out of cable but then the game still let me connect houses :O

It was fun! At first the graphics looked a little simplistic but there was some nice polish to it, especially the house collisions.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:20am

I really enjoyed this (maybe because I used to love top down racers like micro machines way back)
I liked that you could bump in to houses and cause mayhem too!

Great work

rhmoller says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We have fixed the bug that allowed you to connect houses with no remaining cable. The fixed version is now online.

Larzan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Haha, nice one, love the totally bonkers idea of connecting the houses with a cable, was fun to play, nice motor and collision sounds, nice collision camera shake effect, well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]