Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Starlight

by PixelFeet - Jam Entry

Mac OS/X Note: If you are a Mac user and you are receiving the error "Starlight can't be opened because it is from an unidentified developer," please follow the following instructions: 1) Control-click "Starlight" and choose "Open." 2) Choose "Open" again on the next warning that appears. If any other problems arise, it would be great if you could let us know.

Starlight is an experimental story-based experience in which you play as the Cosmonaut, a mysterious being that exists within our solar system. As you play, you'll discover more and more of the universe as the Cosmonaut understands it and follow his descent into madness as it fades into nothingness. For the best experience, play with the sound on.

DISCLAIMER: This game is in no way scientific. But it's just about the story, so that's fine, right?

For this jam, we wanted to do something a little different. Since our game from April (Winter is Coming) was so mechanics-focused, we decided to write a story-based game. And then we decided to have recorded dialogue. And thus, Starlight was born.

Credits:
- Zack Walsh: Game Design & Art
- Joshua Jackson: Programming & Art
- Nathan Kelleher: Voice Work
- Jonathan Carpenter: Music

Tools:
- Engine: Unity
- Art: GIMP
- Sound: Audacity
- Music: Studio One

Default Controls:
- Look: Mouse
- Move: WASD, Arrow Keys
- Interact: Mouse 0, Space
- Continue: Enter
- Exit: Escape
- Scroll: Mouse Wheel

Progressing:
- Interact with each of the necessary planets to progress the story.
- These planets are not marked and require that you find and interact with them of your own accord.
- You must be near a planet and facing it in order to successfully interact with it.

Thanks for playing Starlight!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#139Mood(Jam)3.60
#204Audio(Jam)3.43
#379Innovation(Jam)3.04
#486Theme(Jam)2.93
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#594Graphics(Jam)2.85
#713Fun(Jam)2.25

Comments

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11am

Hi guys, my game is also named Starlight! I like your taste in names! I'm on OSX 10.9.4 and I can't run the Mac download. I get the .app file and I can see your cool icon, but nothing happens when I open it. Any ideas?

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

did you try changing the games resolution or running it in windowed? i know that was doing weird things at first. it also might be a firewall thing.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

Hmm, I don't even get that far. Literally nothing happens when I attempt to open it. I'll do some googling and see if I can figure it out on my end.

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20am

i think it might be a firewall thing then, cause i have to allow access to it my self. BTW i'm playing your game right now! its good casual fun, i like it.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21am

Ah, it was a security setting. Odd, it usually prompts me when it's blocking an app. Serious apologies if I worried you about your files!

I just played through, I think it's really well done. I enjoyed the parallels in our games - exploring space, pressing space bar a lot, pluto references. On the other hand, our moods were obviously very different, and I think you really created and communicated the emotion well. Also, it's the first LD game I've played with voice acting, which I thought was a great touch.

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

Thank you so much! It's a bit rough around the edges, but we really tried to make it something special.

I played your game as well and I thought it was fascinating just how similar they were, despite the obvious differences. Of course, I can't really say much that you haven't already, so I'll just say "thanks" again. The first rating means so much and I'm really glad you liked it. -Josh

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59am

Good game man!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44am

This is interesting. Great game audio by the way.

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:14am

I made it all the way out to pluto but then my intergalactic overseer committed suicide (I quit), he just seemed too depressed to make the 7 year voyage back :P I obviously missed something. Very good setting, I had quite a lot of anticipation as to what is going to happen when I reached one of the further planets, but then nothing ? :-|

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:20am

the game size is a bit large, still a cool game :)

taviandir says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:57am

Very interesting game! I like the concept! It sticks out among the rest for me.
For constructive feedback, I'd say that the transition texts should be able to be closed by the click of a button, instead of I having to wait for it to disappear (maybe I'm a fast reader). The interactions with the plants should perhaps also be cancellable.
For a game with such focus on voice recording, I think a higher quality recording device would've helped the game a lot :)

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Thanks for making an OS X version! Playing this is a bit like meditation, I like the atmosphere and I love the idea of playing a drone/alien who thinks in very long time spans. I couldn't reach all the outer planets, if they do exist I wasn't patient enough ;)

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:57am

Thanks for all the great feedback so far!

@Caliber_Project: Nathan and Jonathan will be pleased to hear it!

@Reyn: Sounds like you found Neptune. Neptune's a bit of a joke. Everything else has dialogue all the time, though.

@PixlWalkr: No doubt it's large. That's probably why most people don't record dialogue for their games. Thanks for playing despite it!

@taviandir: Great ideas! We wanted to implement a lot of them but we just didn't have time. And the recording device, well, I'm told we originally had access to much higher quality equipment, but because no one showed up to open the doors for Nathan we ended up having to make due with a headset. It's always something.

@udo: They do indeed exist! But they aren't crucial to the story; we didn't want them to be. They were just a little bit of extra story for anyone who wanted the mindless task of finding them. (Also we needed it to be sort of scientific.)

mcapraro says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:10pm

i like the story-based quality of this

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I like the mood of it. The texts and dialogs are very good. The atmosphere is bit broken by the not-so-good graphics, though. I did not have the courage to find other planets for the moment, I'll try later.
It would be great if there was an arrow to show you where's the sun, so you don't get lost.
I liked it overall.

hbocao says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:14am

I enjoyed the dialogues. It makes the game feel more human. The graphics are also nice. I didn't understand quite well what that "star" was doing there and why everything got bad. This game sure stood out.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:58am

Was there some part of the story that I missed? Why did he end up destroying things?

It'd be nice to have the asteroid belt, so I could find Jupiter more easily. I never bothered to wander any farther out than that, it just gets too big.

I wonder if there's any good way to make it more navigable without making it easy?

Also, the beginning dialog takes too long, I need to be able to click to continue after 5 seconds or so.

creative630 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:47am

Interesting game, I liked the audio and graphics. I enjoyed wondering to different planets and uncovering the story. Like one of the people I didn't know why he destroyed everything? Loading times were a bit of pain and the ship movement was really slow. Otherwise I enjoyed it :)

Wertle says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:14pm

So I didn't get to explore this as in depth as probably was intended. I struggled with the movement being incredibly slow. Since this seems to be an exploration game, and the biggest obstacle between me and exploring is slow movement, it can feel pretty frustrating. Sometimes this can be addressed by making the act of moving feel really pleasant so I enjoy just floating around the universe. One suggestion would be to make the starscape move in parallax with me so that I can tell if I'm moving at all/making headway towards something. I tried to skip the dialog by hitting enter, but it seems to have broken something, and repeated dialog, so I just avoided attempting to skip in the future :) The music sets a distinct mood.

teamawesome says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Loved the voice acting and the mood. If the music was a bit less repetetive then the audio would have been flawless

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]