Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Abyss

by Potartz - Jam Entry

This game is an odd one to be sure. I suppose it's more of an experiment than a full-fledged game, but there is a goal. Check the site for more info.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2075Coolness14%

Comments

TautNerve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

I really did try but the website did not have anything other
than the main page text and the download link, I even checked
the source for the website but found nothing there. I did
play the game and reached one object that seemed like the
goal but nothing happened. I am clueless on how to solve
this puzzle, maybe it is too obscure? Not rating yet, let's
see maybe somebody else gets it.

Potartz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Did you follow Smokey?

Tommislav says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Quite a weird game. I really liked the audio for setting the mood, but it wasn't consistent with the graphical style (at least imho).
Are there more levels than one? I found some kind of terminal but did not understand how to interact with it, if it's even possible.

Potartz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:17pm

What if I told you the game extends beyond what is in the .exe?

yodamaster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:15am

"Web" means: playable in the browser, not download.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:22am

Not sure that I found the "goal" either. Explored pretty much everything in-game, and read all the transcripts on the website. More of an experiment for sure, I think.

Cosrnos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:37pm

I played the game and read everything I could find on the website. Were three only 4 pages to find?

Buttsteam says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:09pm

It's an okay game. I don't really like the control scheme. If anything, it should have been A and D to rotate.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]