Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Game about Making a Game

by rlangewi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a humble indie game developer who needs to come up with enough money to pay rent in order to not lose his house. Arrow keys to move/jump.

There is more to it, but I don't want to spoil anything! :)
If you are having trouble, or don't see how it integrates with theme, just ask and I can give hints. I just wanted to give everyone the opportunity to try figuring things out on their own first. I am very interested in hearing how far people were able to get, it is hard for me gauge the difficulty when I already know what to do!

I also made the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#45Humor3.71
#97Innovation3.89
#144Theme3.81
#194Mood3.46
#274Audio3.21
#376Fun3.25
#425Overall3.33
#663Graphics2.94

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42am

Your game set off my antivirus! "containing the virus or unwanted program TR/dropper.Gen"

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

Great idea

ShivanHunter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

I don't see what to do once I get to the stage with the hammer. The game doesn't work there, and I can't use my usual solution (smashing it with a hammer) unless there's a control I don't know about.

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

Here is a hint: Observe the results when you exit one of the "games" while holding an item.

Clyde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56am

I like the idea that each level of recursion was different, and the puzzle of bringing things up a level, though it did take me a little while to wrap my head around...

whalebot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

Well done brofes! I won't spoil it for the rest of you, but this was pretty awesome.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04am

Wow, this game was pretty neat! Love it! :D

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Really cool idea!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Inception! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/WU8AB6IzBac

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

This is genious! I loved it! :D

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Clever game. Took me a bit to realize how to move items from one compilation to another.

Logan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Ha, that's pretty genius! I'll admit it got a little tedious towards the end, but the concept you've got is wonderful.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:17am

Incredibly interesting concept! I think this could really make a great game! The only issue is that it got somewhat repetitive. Also, I never actually won, but it was sometimes hard to figure out what to do. Of course, it would be pointless to just give the player the answers, but some sort of hint system would be nice.

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

Fascinating interpretation of the theme - one thing is that it can be a bit tedious, with the fact that embedded instances don't save progress.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:17am

Very nice! Ahahahaha so many details and jokes %)
It was hard to realize how it works, actually I used a tip in comments. But I still enjoyed a lot.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Haha, this is a neat idea. Well done.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Unique take on the theme and a really original mechanic. Awesome job on this!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:29am

Cute! Great take on the theme :D

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:19pm

That house layout remind me of Chasm, did you get inspired a little? :)

rlangewi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:29pm

@Cake&Code To be honest, I've never heard of Chasm haha! I'd be interested to see a comparison, it's funny how things happen like that sometimes. :)

nilstastic says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:36pm

The good: Excellent everything! Would really like to see this expanded further. =)

The bad: Nothing, enjoyed everything.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]