Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Back and 4th

by mclewis - Jam Entry

In Back and 4th you manipulate two blocks with mirrored movement while toggling between connected worlds to solve puzzles.

Art and Level Design: Marshall (Mipo) Pelissier
Programming: Brendan (McLewis) Murphy

Music by "ThePrice" http://theprice.newgrounds.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#29Theme(Jam)4.03
#62Fun(Jam)3.72
#64Overall(Jam)3.85
#92Audio(Jam)3.74
#215Mood(Jam)3.40
#255Innovation(Jam)3.25
#263Graphics(Jam)3.66
#291Humor(Jam)2.63

Comments

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24am

Overall a good puzzle game! Mirror controls felt a bit weird.

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

Really neat puzzle game, good job :D

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

Really entertaining game. The collision seemed a bit off, but other than that, great game.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

Interesting gameplay and a solid foundation for a puzzle game!

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

Yeah I liked it too, but the mirrored controls were weird.

Muush says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

The first time I opened it, I wasn't able to click. The second time I played for a few levels and had fun. Good job.

orbitantlers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

Nice work! I made something with some similar ideas, except in 3D. I like that yours is tile based movement, it makes for some interesting situations.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50am

Had a lot of fun with this one! The difficulty curve on the last set of levels was off, though. They all seemed really easy compared to the third set.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07am

Best game I've played so far. Made me sit and think. I originally wanted to do a puzzle game, so its nice to see other's managed. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20am

The flipping of the controls was really frustrating at first but it was a fun puzzle game. Great graphics!

phaser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21am

Very cool and frustrating (in a good way). Congratulations

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36am

Extremely nice. One of the best I've played today. I made it about half way through before the difficulty overcame my patience. This isn't really my taste in genres, but I can respect a great game regardless.

The music fits well and adds to the trance like game play. Good art as well.

Overall a really well packaged game. I enjoyed it!

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41am

Great work! Loved the simple art direction and puzzles. I would love for the controls to directly control the left screen, rather than having them swapped.

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04am

Could we get a Linux build, please?

~ misson20000

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34am

Fun to play , we have the same idea, only mine is more "arcade" :D

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Hi Pitzixk4. I'll put up a Linux standalone build in few hours, as well as standalones for Windows and Mac. I'll drop you a comment on your game's page when they are up.

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Nice puzzle

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34am

Pretty well made puzzle game I see.
Good job, man!

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:07am

i absolutely love it!
the music was great, the puzzles werent too hard at the start which was nice.. thanks

sam1373 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:11am

Very nice artstyle, very intuitive game with a nice mood, although the sound when you can't switch worlds kind of breaks it.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:11am

Interesting puzzle game. Controls took a while to get used to so I focused on the right side of the screen first and that made it easier.

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:01am

Great Idea and level design. I love the music too ^^

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice puzzle game. I think it would help if the first level you weren't surrounded by walls. That way when you press an arrow key you see how the blocks move. At first I couldn't get anything to move with arrows because I was looking at the left screen and pressing up/w but it was the right screen that moves normally.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Good game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]