Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spectral Sniper

by Acuity - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD to move and mouse to shoot.

Sorry for writing a game without a win condition or end again...

The idea I wanted to write had much more to it - I originally imagined a "toggle" mechanic between a spectral world where you have to shoot ghosts to get energy, and a "real" world where you shoot zombies with energy shots to stay alive.

I might try to finish this idea sometime soon, but for now you get a simple ghost shooting toy with music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Audio3.39
#776Humor2.00
#1022Mood2.30
#1079Fun2.31
#1150Graphics2.00
#1171Overall2.31
#1201Innovation1.64
#1201Theme1.32
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27am

meh

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Great ghosts with music!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Hi there. Better than I was expecting from your description. Like the finishing touches even on an incomplete game ;) So nice pfffft sound for shots, nice trajectories for shots, nice animation on the ghosts and decent chiptune too. Good job!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:25am

Awesome music, good animation for the ghosts.

lakael says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:27am

I like the shooting mechanics and the little ghosts.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:33am

hahahahahaha the first thing that happened to me is i glitched off the left hand side of the screen! Then i tried again and found that i'm almost invicibally awesome at this game! I can not lose and i cannot win, i cannot die and i cannot save ppl, but i CAN make every single ghost dissappear off the screen once one of my purblish balls hits them. i'm UNSTOPPABLE.

bluesky says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:08am

Nice entry, well done.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:10am

Good job. Shame that it's unfinished, but you should make post-compo version :)

lasecun says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:33am

Good job. Another small problem it's when you move backward you disapears from the screen so.. maybe you can fix this and continue with you idea in a next versión. Weldone

Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:14am

Your original idea sounds kinda cool - make sure to emphasize the difference between worlds in the gameplay :)

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:48am

The sounds and music are really cool, but as the game is not finished, it is hard to judge about the gameplay.
For example, if you go at the right of the screen and spam the mouse button, the ghosts don't even have the time to appear on the screen.
But the idea sounds interesting; you should make a post-compo version.

Sestren says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:09am

With less than a day to go, I don't feel comfortable rating this without a Source link, since this is a Compo entry. That said, the music was pretty cool.

teamawesome says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Fantastic music. You can shoot crazy fast :)

Acuity says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Thanks for all the feedback! Sorry for forgetting to include a link to the source code - I think I put the correct link to the dropbox now...

Been really busy recently, still have to finish rating games.

I have lots of ideas for some sort of post-compo version, but it will be a while before I finish learning what I need to know to write it. Maybe next compo I'll be able to write a complete game with a win condition rather than just cool game mechanics and music...

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Haha! I know it's not a proper game, but I like the ghosts, and shooting them is strangely fun.

Also, loved your music, best part.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]