Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pink Parent

by Maxom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second attempt in the Ludum Dare 48h competition! It was a very new experience, because this is my very first 3D-game.

Rotate planets around and connect them together with the WASD keys. Switch planet with Q and E. You can control the camera with the arrow keys.
Try to make the least amount of moves to complete the full structure!

I am very sorry, that there is a bug, I couldn't fix. I would be very happy if you could just restart with R and start all over, if this happens to you!

Thank you very much and have fun playing it.
And thanks to my friend Waterman7 for letting me host this on his website.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#301Theme3.59
#308Innovation3.48
#465Audio2.83
#468Graphics3.21
#504Fun3.10
#514Overall3.25
#534Mood3.00
#881Humor1.78

Comments

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Interesting puzzle game. Challenging and fair, because it is solvable.
Current Selection could be a bit more obvious, those particle effects were rather small.
I had one time where some nodes further away got rotated with an unconnected node. So there seems to be a possible bug in the parenting.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very interesting, nice graphics and audio, really fun to play.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02pm

58 ! very nice for your first 3d game, the unniverse is great and the control are good, i m curious about how you manage the colision :)

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:03pm

It was really fun to connect the small pieces to bigger ones, until everything is one big system!

Bernte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Nice little puzzle, fitting theme very well. Is the music generated by code?

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nice game! It was very challenging for me which is always great! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

A quite nice puzzle. Maybe there could have been more levels.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nice puzzle.

abeing says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:17pm

very innovative idea! and nice graphis

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Literally connecting. Very nice puzzle.

local minimum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Nice puzzle, it took me a while but finally I think I connected them all. Nothing happened then, but maybe that was the bug you talked about. Liked the experience. Maybe add some more effects when connecting two pieces and a soundtrack.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:38am

96 turns. Was a nice challenge. Clearly this kind of game needs more iterations before it feels more natural to play and 48 hours isn't enough for that. Very good job!

komjaur says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:29pm

good game but R button was annoing

kyru says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Nice puzzle game, controls make sense though they take a moment to get used to.

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Interesting and made enough sense, I definitely liked it. Would like to see more levels if this goes any further.

dadman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Cool little game, I just wasn't very good at it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]