Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

HopSlide

by Managore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

- - - - [HOW TO PLAY] - - - -

HopSlide consists of two games.

In Hop you can explore a large, blue world. There are some platforms to jump on, springs to launch you into the air, a mysterious map room to investigate and two doors (but they don't seem to go anywhere).

In Slide you can slide some colored blocks around. There are some markings on the blocks (but who cares what those are for). Slide doesn't come with any music so maybe you should leave Hop running in the background.

Hop and Slide are definitely not connected in any way.

- - - - [HOW TO REALLY PLAY] - - - -

Run both games at once. The real game is to discover all the different ways the two games are connected, and in doing so collect the six colored letters. The letters are colored purple, blue, green, yellow, white and red, and their colors should give you some idea of where they are located.

Because the game is hard and requires a lot of thinking outside the box, I've added some hints below for each of the six letters.

- - - - [CONTROLS] - - - -

For Hop:

> W or Up - Jump
> A/D or Left/Right - Move
> M - Mute
> Xbox controllers are also supported

For Slide:

> Left Click and Drag - Slide
> M - Mute

- - - - [HELP] - - - -

The blue world is just one of many. When two worlds are connected in Slide, you can travel between them in Hop using the exits marked by arrows.

To erase progress, delete the HopSlide folder in C:\Users\<your name>\AppData\Local.

- - - - [HINTS] - - - -

These hints are here in case you get really stuck. Use http://rot13.com/ to decode.

Purple: Unir lbh tbar guebhtu rirel qbbe?
Blue: Fbzrguvat arrqf gb or pbaarpgrq.
Green: Gur flzobyf fubj lbh jung gb qb.
Yellow: Gurer vf n uhtr pyhr va gur fperrafubgf.
White: Jurer jbhyq gur juvgr yrggre or?
Red #1: Gurer ner gjb ohggbaf.
Red #2: Cerffvat gurz bar ng n gvzr jba'g uryc.
Red #3: Lbh arrq gb fgnaq ba obgu ohggbaf ng gur fnzr gvzr.

- - - - [ABOUT] - - - -

This is my third Ludum Dare and as always I had a great time! I wanted to do something a bit different and HopSlide is the result. Because of the heavy reliance on color I've added a (post-compo) colorblind friendly version. I'd love to hear what you think of the game but please try not to post spoilers in the comments.

Made by Daniel Linssen (@managore)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.80
Innovation4.83
Coolness81%
Overall4.49
#7Fun4.16
#32Mood4.00
#89Audio3.65
#115Graphics3.96
#238Humor2.91

Comments

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07am

Although I didn't quite undetsnad, I felt both games were a fun and unique experience

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

Wow dude. I don't know how you do it but yet again another amazing concept and execution. Very well done.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

Really great idea, and a very original take on the theme! Well done!

PoV says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

Such a clever game. You sneaky sneaky. :)

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54am

Wow, you outdid yourself this time. Once you really get what you have to do, the game is a very unique experience. I've only got 3 letters so far, but I'll finish it soon!

ianh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54am

I got 4 and now I'm stuck. Brilliant game!

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15am

Definitely one of the best takes on the game I've seen so far. Great game!

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Really great use of the theme!

Wertle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13pm

I love this concept! It made me think a bit of Continuity with the slider puzzle/platformer combo, but having them go in in two different games was quite nice. I love how there was also an element of making things happen in the world based on position of the sliders other than just the exits. I didn't get as much time with this as I'd have liked as I feel like there's a lot of things to discover that I didn't have time to delve into, so I'm planning on coming back to this and poking around with it more. Very nice work!

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08am

Very nice. I love the take on the theme and I never thought to connect two separate games.

As a side note: Chrome told me the game .zip was malicious and wouldn't let me download it. I got it fine through firefox. Surprisingly Chrome let me download the source, fine.

Spiridios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

Wow, great concept. When I solved the red room puzzle I was like "this can't possibly be how you solve it", and yet, that's what worked.

I can't seem to start a fresh game to prove it, but the blue room puzzle didn't seem to work until I tried in on my main monitor instead of my secondary monitor.

saampahlavan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04am

Best use of the theme. Really interesting.

Managore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05am

Thank you everyone for the feedback!

@oranebeast: I've added a help section, hopefully that clears up a little of the confusion!

@Wertle: I guess I shouldn't be surprised that one of the main concepts already existed in another game but I'm still a little disappointed that it wasn't as original as I'd thought. I hope you find the time to come back and discover more of the secrets!

@tigerbyte: Thanks for letting me know, although I don't think there's anything I can do to prevent that. Chrome sees a .zip file that hasn't been downloaded many times and gets a little concerned.

@Spiridios: That's a bit of a pain, hopefully that doesn't trip up too many people. Also, you've reminded me to add instructions in the help section on how to erase progress.

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Wowww! Love the interaction between the two screens, the puzzles are super hard and I've only managed to solve 3/6 so far. Awesome job!

steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:11pm

This was brilliant, easily my favourite game so far. Some really clever ideas in here, totally worth the time puzzling it out to the end.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very cool! I loved the yellow room mechanic. Managed to find 4 of the letters - red room stumped me and I'm not sure where the sixth is. I'm sure I'll be back to try again!

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Once again you did an awesome job : congratulations ! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Lovely little game, the difficulty may be a bit too high but I love the style and the aesthetics.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06pm

This pretty much blew me away. Very clever little puzzle game. It took me a while to notice you put a big hint in one of your screenshots. I'm stuck on the red room though and I'm not sure if that screenshot is a hint or just misdirection...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Brilliant. Original and such a great puzzle.

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Wow! Amazing game!! The main mechanic was already really cool and interesting... but you took it even further!

After seeing the yellow room image, I was able to think up solutions to every other room... but that red one.

That last room's puzzle was incredibly difficult. Solving it was really satisfying. :)

Amazing game, congrats! =D

ShivanHunter says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:26am

This was amazing. I loved the concept (I'm also familiar with a similar game, possibly the one Wertle mentioned, but it focused entirely on the "maze" aspect - your maze was only one part of a bigger puzzle). Very unorthodox, and very well executed.

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Great stuff and original use theme.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:58pm

You are a brother truckin' mad genius.

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39pm

This is really a good example of "thinking outside of the frame". I like it!

foolmoron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Literally blew my mind

lekochen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Got all letters. OMG this is MIND-BLOWING. 5/5 5/5 5/5 Kudos to you.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:48pm

This is AWESOME IDEA! Man, you rule this LD again =)
There is best theme using on whole LD.
Like the mechanics. But I've opened still 3 letters.
Working on it =)

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:43pm

A lovely mindbender, I liked how each puzzle explored a different way in which the games were connected!

Chris_E says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I haven't had anywhere near enough time to play this game, but I'm saving it to go back to later. I can't even believe this was made in 48 hours, mind blowing. Thank you.

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Without the hint in the screenshots, I would have never been able to solve the yellow room. That one was hard. I tried so many things for more than two hours. I have never spent so much time on a compo game...

This is probably the smartest use of the theme I have seen so far and one of the smartest puzzle games I have ever played. Just wow...

Dohan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:49pm

After finding all the letters, the 'Y' seems the easiest one to find, but damn, it took me a while to figure out how to reach it XD

The idea is really great, congratulations!

sqw says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:10am

Here are the MD5s I got for the files in case anyone else cares to compare. Might be good to post original source file MD5s for verification as well.

4e1c8b0e7c186dec3b86e9efb8449f20 *HopSlide Colorblind.zip
cfb15ea05bf9cf818b64fbeb0240a9af *HopSlide.zip

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:35am

fantastically brilliant. the puzzles are extremely clever and extremely simple. this is a great game.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

Amazing interpretation of the theme, and your pixelart style is always so nice to look at!

xandy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

amazing idea! this is by far the best theme interpretation i've seen. and the music+graphics are awesome as well!

GreyShock says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Amazing!!! http://i.imgur.com/7YmSGKI.png

"N" was the harder to get for me, but it feels really rewarding when your brain finally spot the answer! Great game. Bravo!

thebmxeur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Anybody got a hint on how to get the 'O' ? It's the only one I'm missing and I can't figure out what to do.

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Wow. This is just amazing. I haven't completed it yet but I'll be back later for more. Very clever, very creative, one of my favourites so far for sure.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Simply amazing. After your great job with the last LD, I knew you wouldn't disappoint. You've earned yourself another fan :P

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

I finished the game, with some hints.
This is one of the best LD48 game I've ever played, and I mean from all the preivous LDs

cleitoneldorn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

This is probably the most awesome LD game I ever played. Well done, sir!

Objelisks says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:07am

Great game! I almost had to look at a hint, but finally figured out the puzzle on my own.

Tosic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:20am

It is cool and how you made two games to interpret the theme, nice!

local minimum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Really cool idea, though a bit annoying to have the two games in separate windows (focus toggling and simply clicking outside quite a few times takes away some joy). That aside, it is a really nice idea to have a puzzle guide the stage-transitions. One very minor detail: I think the black arrow for the yellow tile is in the wrong spot on the map in the blue world.

I managed to get three letters out of the six and passed by some letter places without figuring out how they worked (e.g. red world (first alt image above). Also didn't get the yellow world. The white/black world had some really smart mechanics to it, really liked that.

So, since I mostly mentioned what I didn't get, to sum up:

This is definitely among the top 3 best games I've played so far.

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Very well made game. Nice tune. Greate graphics. Wonderfull gameplay. Thank you very much for your game.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

An amazing entry! I'm struggling to complete the green room, but just exploring is fun too. I had a similar idea with my own entry, with sliding blocks representing the rooms, but didn't manage to get anywhere near as close to a finished game as you did. Well done Daniel! :)

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Clever idea, and great execution. Found the dual puzzles to be a challenge!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:49am

What else can be said?? Innovative, great execution, makes you feel super smart when you find the solutions. Even the clock-ticking music fits the game perfectly.

Sheepolution says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:47pm

First I thought this would do a clever mechanic with windows overlapping or something like that. In 48 hours you managed to think of all kinds of different ways to let these 2 windows interact. Every time I found the solution I felt clever because I found the solution, and thought you were clever to come up with that. The graphics look great, the music is nice. An amazing Ludum Dare entry!

sqw says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Finally finished this. The red room! xD

dunin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:16am

really clever game. I like "think different" puzzle games, and there are several here...
I finally get the six letters (but no end screen? or I miss a final puzzle?) whithout hint but it takes me time...

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Today I learned I'm not very good at sliding puzzles :(
Got stuck on the final green room puzzle.

I'm gonna play more later, still without hints, because this is just too damn interesting. But I think I've seen enough to give a very generous rating already.

Technically, it's very inventive, and I've still only seen part of what the connections might be (since the description implies there's more to it than the puzzle style of the green room).

Controls are solid, graphics are simple but get the job done, though animations are very well done. The music's alright, not too moody or catchy, but definitely not annoying or with any other specifically negative qualities. Details like the little dust you kick up is nice too.

Basically the only criticism I can come up with is that when you slide the pieces in Slide around very quickly, sometimes your cursor goes outside the window, and then it gets stuck in the dragging state, which is a little annoying. The window probably doesn't get mouseup events then, but I think the game should consider the mouse released if it leaves the window.

I can't criticize the puzzle difficulty because I feel like it's more a failing on my part than the game's (which in other words speaks in the game's favor).

Easily 5/5 in overall, innovation and theme.

hadesfury says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Great game ... but I did not manage to go to the end ... it's amazing though

phaze112 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Fantastic game, had to use a hint for yellow and red, but I got all the letters.
Didn't think anyone else would think to use multiple windows to interact.

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:06am

I had a few of those classic 'aha' moments playing your entry - one of the best experiences in gaming, I think! Really well done :D

jerombd says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Fantastic game, with an innovative idea!

Artamus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Amazing game with a strong innovative idea and a perfect mood... congrats!

psychomonster says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:54am

definitely one of the best games I've played this jam... The concept is great and the gameplay is marvellous. I'll spend some more time for this. Faved it ;)

Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:09pm

This is absolutely brilliant. Loved it and so impressed with the way you used the theme. Definitely felt connected playing it.

gladers says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Really well done! :)

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Simply astonishing! Managed to get all 6 letters although I had to look at the hints for the blue and yellow :P And boy, did that yellow one blow my mind. Marvelous work!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:31am

Wow. That was interesting! I loved it ahaha good job

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:57am

5 star innovation! No wonder you've won ludum dare before! Awesome graphics and sound. Awesome puzzles too. Love the concept, fantastic job overall!

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:10am

Oh wow my head really hurts. What a fantastic usage of the theme! I didn't even know it was possible for games to interact with each other like this. It was also great to see this mechanic be used to craft such amazing puzzles and wasn't just a spiffy gimmick. The puzzles here actually involve a great deal of thought, and are a good mix of both spatial puzzles and abstract problem-solving. The fact that nothing at all is explained was also a great decision, since it makes the game so much more rewarding once everything is figured out.

Best yet, as cryptic as the game is, everything ultimately makes sense in the context of everything that's presented, since the game explains itself by being played with. Experimentation is key here, and that's what leads to the best kinds of puzzles! The only puzzle I disagree with on a fundamental level is the one in the yellow room, since it follows different rules than the rest of the game. Other than that, everything is indeed solvable...but maybe not immediately. :P Great job!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Simply amazing. The controls and puzzles are spot on.
At first I wanted to say, that it did not really have to be two seperate programs, but after having completed it, I think this makes it really so much cooler.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:19am

One of the most amazing and out of the box puzzles I ever played, I really love the great programming you did, I have never sen a game work like that. Terrific job once again!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:13am

Plain brilliant. Very sneaky. Love it.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:05pm

This game is so smart it made my homework.

Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:57am

I'm fucking raging on the red one! (got the others) Your clues didn't help i already knew that but i still don't get it. I want to break something. Nobody spoiled it in comment.

Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

OK i got it. EASY

Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:06am

And it's the best game. Everything in it is good and elegant.
Maybe the music is not the best, but 5 stars for the rest!

Marcellus says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:53am

DAMNIT ! http://prntscr.com/4l2rn1

congratulations for this awesome game, 11/10 would recommand

Managore says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:36pm

@01010111, steve, NicePenguins, SeriouslyCrunchy, ShivanHunter, ATTA Games, Crowbeak, CatOnMars, foolmoron, lekochen, SaintHeiser, Chris_E, Dohan, zillix, xandy, panurge, Pierrec, cleitoneldorn, Objelisks, varun, Oddly Shaped Pixels, hadesfury, jerombd, Artamus, psychomonster, Franklins Ghost, gladers, hundredhundred, ChuiGum, Lokarunith, vividhelix: Thank you all so much for playing and for the kind words! It's really encouraging to read what all of you said.

@snicklodocus: The yellow room was the first mechanic I thought of, so it's easily one of my favourites. I hope you worked out the red room in the end, it is definitely a toughy.

@Doctor Broccoli: Thanks, it was hard to make the puzzles innovative without making them also really difficult. Hopefully the hints help a little.

@Incredible Ape: It's very late of me to respond but the red screenshot is in no way a hint.

@GFM: Well done on solving the red room in the end, I'm glad to hear it was worth it.

@KevinZuhn: Thanks, I tried to come up with as many different interpretations for how the two games might be connected. There have been a lot more ideas I wish I could have included that I've thought of since then!

@rnlf: Originally I toyed with the idea of leaving a big clue in the room. A dotted outline the side of Slide, something like that. It was one of those cases where it was really tricky to estimate how obvious or non-obvious the puzzle would seem.

@sqw: Thank you for that, I double checked them with my files and they match. Sorry the response was so slow.

@rogueNoodle: It was looking pretty awful for ages, only on my third attempt did things look like something other than garbage.

@GreyShock: Well done! Almost everyone found the red room to be the hardest. I guess it's a suitable color for it.

@thebmxeur: Here's a hint. Use rot13.com to decode: Vs bayl gurer jnf fbzrguvat gb pbaarpg gur jver sebz gur cyhf gb gur zvahf.

@andrewkennedy: I'm honored to hear that!

@Tosic: Thanks, I wanted to make something a bit different.

@local minimum: I know what you mean, but I really wanted to make the two games as separate as possible. I think it would have cheapened the experience, at least for me, having them both being part of the same game. Having said that, I could have designed things better so that clicking outside the window didn't happen as often. And yes, you are absolutely correct about the misplaced yellow room arrow! I hope you manage to work out the red and yellow rooms. The hints hopefully give you a good starting point.

@ruerob: You're very welcome!

@grayhaze: It's really great to see people who interpreted the theme in similar ways!

@Sheepolution: Thank you! I was really lucky to have more inspiration strike each time I finished working on the previous puzzle.

@sqw: That bloody red room!

@dunin: Unfortunately there's no end screen or final puzzle, once you have all six letters all you can do is stand in front of them and pat yourself on the back.

@tacospice: I certainly could have made the blocks a bit easier to move around quickly. A lesson learnt, I suppose. I was glad to hear you ended up beating it, in the end!

@phaze112: I checked out your game and absolutely loved it! I think you did a way better job of making the rooms interact by overlapping them than I did.

@SteveSalmond: Those moments really are the best.

@Crocanti de Pollo: You must be one of the few people who didn't want to punch me after the red room.

@mrjohnson22: It took a bit of thinking to get them to interact in the ways that they did. There were somethings I initially was sure couldn't be done in the timeframe given. And thank you for your compliments, I really wanted the player to think "I wish I had thought of that sooner!" instead of "Oh, so THAT'S what you have to do?" and I know that the yellow room abuses that trust a little bit.

@klianc09: Even ignoring the puzzles that require the programs be separate, I still like it much better as two separate programs, to me it feels better. And it meant I could write a really silly "how to play" section.

@Alexandre Szybiak: You have some unusual homework.

@AnnaGavaldaKedavra: I'm glad you worked it out in the end.

@Marcellus: Well done!

Sestren says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Brilliant idea that is well-executed.

cardboard says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:22am

The graphic design of both games is rather stellar; I really like the colors you used for the game (I only played the colorblind-unfriendly version). The interconnectedness of both games was very unique and was utilized well in the puzzles (except for perhaps the yellow room, which was both relatively unsolvable [for me] without the hint and awesome as a game mechanic). The music and sound effects were cohesive and fit the game's atmosphere. I enjoyed your game, and found it to be challenging and rewarding.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:32am

This wins the innovation prize from me 100%. When i realized what I had to do in the red room, I sat wide-eyed with wonder, really hoping that my solution would be right, and then; bliss :D Thanks for this very unique experience.
I completed it, but used hints on yellow and red (only the first one though).

Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:37am

Hi there, I put this game on my recommendation list for this LD: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/13/5-1-games-of-greatness/
I hope you do well in the ratings!

zatyka says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:38am

Interesting games like this are one of the reasons I love Ludum Dare.

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I'm going to echo all the other voices: phenomenal job.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:59pm

This game is soo cool!! Finally I found a entry to give 5 star for innovation.

NuSan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:46am

Realy great game, each puzzle was a little eureka in my head! Hints are welcome, specialy for the yellow one.

Stepwise says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 11:57am

oh man I can see why you got top in theme! this was awesome to play!

I managed to solve all 6 of them! but, they were all really well done, and all "taught" - which blew me away. None of them felt too obtuse!

vandriver says ...
Sep 19, 2014 @ 11:09pm

dropping in post-compo to say this is my favorite of all the games i played this LD. should be number one!

samkiment1 says ...
Oct 1, 2014 @ 2:28pm

so amazing!!!I watched one guy video about play it,only felt amaing!!

Dado says ...
Oct 23, 2014 @ 6:03pm

It Was very refreshing... expect the red room... maybe i will feel a lot better after complete it but for now... it blow my mind if i think that a hint for the solutions is below in the Slide window and i can't understand how to use it... anyway i like it a lot it's an innovative game good luck for your next games... and sorry for the poor english.

d0sboots says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:38am

Looked this one up, and it really blew me away! Great job!

Unlike basically everyone, I had the most trouble with the *green* room. I got the basic mechanic, but couldn't get the last part. It wasn't until I figured out the red room that I was able to apply the same idea to solve the green room.

joshg says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Blatant red room hint: Guvax bhgfvqr gur tnzr.

Sorry, it ticked me off that this *still* wasn't on the internet anywhere...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]