Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crossed SIgnals

by exoticorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move with arrow keys, jump with space or 'x', connect signal sources to destinations of the same color.

Update 26.8.: I noticed that my keyboard at work failed to register up, left and space at the same time, so I added the 'x' key as an alternative jump button.

In the end I was running out of time to add more levels and some extra gameplay elements. Also there is no win condition, the levels just loop back to the start.

Code: Javascript+WebGL
Art: Generated in code, except for the player texture made in piskel.
Music: Ardour + My voice

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Audio4.07
#251Humor2.89
#374Innovation3.40
#379Overall3.38
#486Mood3.07
#504Fun3.10
#783Graphics2.75
#974Theme2.55
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Why do you say it is barely a game ? It's great :D
Original and fun concept !
I love the music x) I have to admit I thought on doing acapella stuff to (but well, time...) but you really nailed it
Did you use WebGL ? Simple art but it fits with the gameplay. The jump control is not always responsive though.

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Even for a prototype it's fairly well built! The camera is a bit twitchy though...

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40pm

It didn't work on my computer, I see the game but the input doesn't seem to work. This is a Win 8.1 x64. Tried with Chrome, Firefoz and IE :(

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Quite hard! By the way I cannot hear any music (I think there is supposed to have since I read the comments).

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

you have groove! nice one, keep up the good work

wish I could give audio 6 out of 5

CogComp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

I have to agree with Belvar. It's a great game! A little polish on the controls and levels and I could play this for ages!

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Music was perfect!

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I couldn't hear any music on OS X Mavericks with Safari :( But don't be so hard on yourself, the game actually quite fun and addictive! :)

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Really fun! The rules are simple and intuitive, good job overall.

exoticorn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I updated the description. When I wrote the original text I was really burnt out and frustrated for not having the energy to improve the game further.
The Music is in Ogg-Vorbis format and might only work in Firefox and Chrome.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I don't know how or why, but I got it running :)
I found the controls a bit frustrating, as they seem to be relative to the camera, but the camera follows the player too slowly. I'd prefer absolute controls or a faster camera update.

Other than that, I found the puzzles very fun and clever. This is a nice and well done game. Thanks!

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31pm

kinda hard to control the ball :D but I got it through the first level \o/

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

license file? we used similar technologies. would you be interested in contributing to game I am working on? (also checkout coffee-script)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Hi there. Like the music, found the player control pretty difficult, not positive enough to make jumps predictably. Camera movement after death confusing (doesn't reset camera)

torcado194 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:52am

wow i loved this! the music was probably what kept me from quitting haha. i did beat it, even though it was annoyingly laggy on my comp. good job!

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

The concept great! It seems very simple at first, but levels 3-4 show that it has a lot of depth. I didn't complete level 5, however, because I got too frustrated by the god awful controls. I think the ball shouldn't move when you use the left or right arrow keys, only the camera should move. Again, the puzzle part was great, but the jumping part was extremely frustrating.
The music is hilarious!

akymos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:49am

Theme song is awesome. I was expecting also a nice jump sfx...but the whole game is definitely a great piece of work. intriguing puzzle and movement...it took me a while but finally I mastered it. The camera is a little crazy though.
Good job!

micahcowan says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:57pm

The camera makes the controls hard. Maybe the controls should be independent of the camera?

I couldn't figure out how to play world 3, guess I suck. :(

I can't tell you how much I enjoyed the music. Yes, I know you just churned it out hastily by dubbing your own voice over itself a coupla times, but it's catchy, and the acapella nature of it just makes it that much cooler.

Thanks for making it!

Buttsteam says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Fun game. I wish there was more control over the camera though. Also some proper audio and maybe some type of ball-rolling animation would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]