Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Pieces

by EnigmAraigne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

O, hi.

Welcome to Two Pieces.

It's easy, but I hope entertaining game.

It's my second time on ludum, still practising to get better in Construct.

If you have any sugestions feel free to share.

Peace!


Source code requires Construct 2 to open.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#800Fun2.77
#801Innovation2.83
#923Humor1.60
#925Theme2.64
#1023Overall2.68
#1104Mood1.85
#1150Graphics2.00
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Simple, but could be the start of something. My suggestion would be there is no time pressure so it's easy to just concentrate moving one block to the middle and then concentrate on the other. With a timer you could better incentivise and force the player to try and coordinate them at the same time.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Had fun playing it 2 players.

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Cool idea but a little bit too easy

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:04am

the source code is a bytecode and not readable.

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40am

Cool idea. Can be done at the time, that was a —Āhallenge

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:42am

nice game, but it's very easy

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Nice execution, and the idea works surprisingly well. I had fun controlling both at once. I can definitely see this working with harder levels if you want to continue it.

Is it meant to be played 2 player? If so, I like that's it's competitive, in that you're racing, but also collaborative in that you both need to arrive at the center. Good stuff!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53pm

It's meant for two players?

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:22pm

an idea, but not sufficiently exploited.
Add a timer and maybe a second timer when one square touch the goal (the other have to touch it too in less than 5 secondes...)

Glaydur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Nice simple game :)

twintrite says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Depending on your intention of the game you should put either more competitive or more collaborating components into it. Or you make a single player version out of it where you have to control both at the same time (that's how I played it and it was fun) and maybe both pieces must be in synch or at least in a certain range all the time :) Anyways I like it even though it looks and plays very simple.

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:35pm

way too easy nice concept to race as two players but you need obstacles to fight or something

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Simple, but still manages to feel like it's lacking in mechanics and I don't see how it ties into the theme at all. You definitely need to add a little something more to it such as mechanics for interaction between the two squares or some competitive component (depending on your angle).

Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:00pm

a time limit would be a good idea too

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:32am

Great job, especially for it being only your second time!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]