Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bird Simulator - Worlds Connected by Poo

by eastes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This entry is dedicated to bird poo. 100's of years ago, birds were very important in connecting distant worlds with flora.

VIDEO:http://www.youtube.com/embed/5OsJF425oZQ

Entire game size is only 1.2MB so should download fast.

You'll need a fast PC since everything is procedurally generated and I haven't optimised yet.

Music: GarageBand
Code: Unity
Models: Blender
SFX: Sound Booth

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#10Humor4.22
#74Graphics4.10
#148Fun3.60
#174Mood3.48
#176Audio3.41
#263Overall3.51
#524Innovation3.19
#650Theme3.13

Comments

joppiesaus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21am

This is awesome. And fun.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03am

Really fun game. Nice graphics and... erm... sounds. ;D

hectormorlet says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04am

Nice game. The low poly art style is nicely utilised, giving a sleek look all over. The music was chirpy and fits in with the game. Although, the game became a bit glitchy after the blue bird met the pink one.

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

Fun and looks cool :)

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37am

Haha, we indeed have the same style, but you have a lot more poo :)
Nice game, the music awesome.

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Ha ha !! Awesome game !! Just an advice : change birds for pigeons and trees for cars !! So funny.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I just landed on an island and my bird had diahrea... thickest forest ever.

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44am

This is a great game! The gameplay is quick enough to learn that it makes it fun right away. I also like that it is fairly educational and that you actually see the new trees growing.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25am

Definitely... unique!

arttut02 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49am

Very nice interpretation of the theme. Liked the game.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Can't tell you how much I like the low poly look....

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:28am

Fun game! Everything looked so nice!

mklee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:29am

The simplified 3D is really awesome-looking. I loved the trees in particular. Very cheery and chirpy. Great job!

paps says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:33am

Nice game and nice graphics.
Do the food (fruit) are of any use? like the bird poo "better"? (can't imagine I just say that :o)

eastes says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:37am

@paps, the fruit is currently symbolic and educational more than anything. If I had another hour, I'd make the fruit combinations relate to different poo, which in turn grows different trees, which you can then eat to make even more different trees. I'm very happy you enjoyed the game. Thank you for playing it and giving some feedback!

seantheartist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:52am

Sweet game, very true to the theme!

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:47am

Thought this was gonna be a 3d flappy birds clone at first!

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:05am

Cool idea with poo. Cute low poly bird)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Nice game, graphics simple but beatiful, the initial idea of my game had a Bird too, but than we changed. Nice entry.

drstik says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:07am

Can we please have a sequel in which bird seeks medical treatment for his poor destroyed poopshoot?

voxel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

Too bad there isn't a birdpoo category in the ratings. This was fun and nicely put together.

Also to answer your question, no I don't currently live in Brisbane, but I did until very recently :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Hi there. Excellent fun. Love the look and feel. Ran really smoothly on W8.1 laptop/Chrome. Like the plinky-plonky music too. Good job!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:52am

Awesome, fun & interesting idea! Nice graphic style too, well done!

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Nice graphics!

I would've like to have more of a game though. Perhaps if there were some obstacles, and planets placed in a way that they were tricky to get to.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Fun game!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:37pm

This is hilarious and fun. Toilet humour always goes down well, and the game has a colourful cartoony vibe.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:01am

5 stars for humor :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:59am

A BIRD SIMULATOR! Wow, that was quite something, I had never seen a bird poop so much myself. Great take on the theme, lots of fun and humour. Well done!

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I had fun flapping around and helping the eco-system. It is a good start for something that could become an interesting mechanic given more variation in the landscapes and the landscape reacting the cross-fertilization job the player is doing.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:00am

Fun idea - really like the take on connecting worlds. Lovely colourful graphics and smooth controls.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:25am

This game is brilliant. I love the biology lesson mixed with a fun concept. While it is quite easy and simple it does have some interesting mechanics that set it apart from most games. Would love to see an improved version of this!

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I was scared it'd be Flappy Bird 3D, but it was something altogether more juvenile :)

It took a while to work out that those red things flying at me weren't missiles.

If you sit on a world, you poop, trees grow and then their fruit throws itself at you and you poop some more and you just rack up eh points. A kind of vicious circle really :)

Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Maaaaan, that poop sound effect. Sounds awfully wet. :)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:59am

Very cool!
I love the graphical style and the idea behind this! :)
Nice interpretation of the theme! :)
Oh, and landing on an island kinda breaks the game, since you'll spawn very fast a lot of trees. (eating berries, pooping, eating berries, pooping ...)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]