Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

RGB

by orukinawa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TL;DR Version:
What happens when the RED, GREEN and BLUE worlds collide? It gives birth to different hues that affect the physics of this new strange world.



- I made RGB as a short prototype to prove a concept that is colour dependant physics.
- I didn't have time to implement more features like teleporters and moving/merging platforms as I started the jam late.
- If this game gets a lot of interest, that will really encourage me to keep working on it and expand it into something great :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#198Innovation3.65
#207Fun3.50
#523Overall3.24
#619Mood2.90
#724Theme3.00
#752Humor2.06
#936Graphics2.49

Comments

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Nice concept, maybe its just me but I get stuck when I passes the purple wall and turned red or purple?
Like it :)

invi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37am

So trippy~~~

greysphere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21am

Neat game. Using the mixed colors like that is pretty clever.

akios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23am

cant pass the pink wall, but its goo very nice and simple idea

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26am

Brilliant idea.

Really enjoyed it and definitely my favourite game so far this jam. Just wish there was more levels.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26am

I like the idea. But I was unable to figure out what makes a color unable to go through another color versus not.

flatgub says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42am

Really cool! Its very short and i'd like to see where this could be taken if it were longer and further developed.
-Flatgub <3

orukinawa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:10am

@akios
HINT: the tall block are actually doors, try to figure out how to open them ;)

@shawnFeatherly:
The main logic is that the player will collide with anything that contains at least one of the same color component (R,G,B) as the player himself. I realise it can be confusing sometimes but having an RGB color wheel for reference really helps :)

technocf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

I like the idea behind the game but the controls are difficult to use. Might be easier if the jump is a little higher.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Beat it :) Nice entry, although I find a little misleading fact that red and blue walls are dissapearing after touch.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Clever idea, but rather challenging to play.

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I want more level! :D
Super simple and well done game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45am

A bit hard to follow, but pretty fun overall.

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02am

Good concept. Hope to see a full game with lots of levels in the future!

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Very interesting, could have used a few more levels, so I hope you will continue working on this.

heterosapiens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Cool concept, although the puzzle are pretty simple as its mostly solvable within its own segments (a color-blind person like me just went for trial and error and still manage to solve it within 5 minutes).

Great potential to be an awesome puzzle game, and of course, a COLOR WHEEL map/mini-map would the first of its kind!

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20pm

sweet concept! you need to know your color wheel here. Make more levels!

fizzd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Pretty fun oru :D

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:45pm

1 level? :(

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

Short, but really cool mechanics!

aeveis says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

Interesting idea, takes a bit getting used to. The doors had to take a bit figuring out - maybe moving forward if the game relied a lot figuring what certain shapes or obstacles do? overall pretty cool!

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

Wow, really a brilliant idea... but it's also really difficult to achieve the end! :D

rantt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Really cool concept. Fun puzzle game, wish it was longer I wanted to keep playing...lol Great job!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Interesting concept.

jprogman says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:19am

I really like the presentation. Simple colours, big pixels, and a single-screened action. Reminds me of any old computer games!
Very nicely done!

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Made it to the end. Fun, but not too hard which is good because it seems like you're just looking for proof of concept. I'd like to see more of this. This is definitely one of my favorites so far. Would have liked some audio, even if it was just simple to start.

banana4life says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I would like to have more levels :)

Crosstales says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Good "puzzle-platformer" - was fun to play it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]