Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flip Out!

by DeltaF1 - Jam Entry

A simple puzzler/platformer with a twist. Use the arrow keys to move. Pressing down onto the opposite colour flips, while in the other mode pressing up flips. There are only a few levels done, but I will be making it easier for others to make their own levels as well.

Debug/Developer Tools

Press the "back-tick" or "tilda" key to enable dev mode(usually right below the escape key). While in dev mode you can left and right click to change the tiles on screen. You can press "s" to save this level it will overwrite the level ahead of that one, and next time you open the game it should have that level loaded. To edit/delete the modified levels, go to the LOVE save folder. You can find instructions for finding that folder here: http://love2d.org/wiki/love.filesystem

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#272Theme(Jam)3.41
#278Innovation(Jam)3.21
#312Fun(Jam)3.15
#397Overall(Jam)3.20
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#566Audio(Jam)2.38
#680Graphics(Jam)2.53

Comments

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:30am

Short and sweet.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

The mechanic reminds me a little of the winner from last LD. :D Nice work.

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

I wish it were longer, but nice concept and well made!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Short but fun! :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:45am

I actually like this game a lot! The mechanic is fairly unique and interesting. The game tutorialized itself very well by introducing a new element, feature or obstacle every new level combined with a hint on what to do.

A very solid and good game where only the graphics leave a little to be wished for.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Over too soon, but at least you've made it easy to edit levels :)
Kinda like the Shift series of online games.

Digiraze says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I like it!

Aifryz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Fun game, bit too short. Next time, be more consistent with your graphics eg. use either textures or solid colors.

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:41pm

@Aifryz I originally had only solid colours, but I wanted to spritz it up a bit. However, I wanted to keep the black and white tiles as solid, so that's where the inconsistency comes in.

@Darkshadow Thanks :) I'm glad you found it easy to edit. I'm probably going to make it easier to load/pick levels, so it's a bit smarter.

@Everyone who says it's to short. It is quite short, because I made all the levels in the last couple hours of the jam XD. Next time I'll focus a bit more on making sure there's enough content.

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:41pm

@DeltaF1 *too short

Code White says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:02pm

This is like your own little engine! Impressive how simple it is to use, well done!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:04pm

A solid entry. Nice job, It's easy to tell you focused only on what you needed to to complete the project in time (which is good, in my opinion).
The Platforming could have been better, but the main mechanic feels perfect, and I didn't find a single bug!:) Great job! I hope you decide to expand on this project!

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Thanks @Code White and @MunkeeBacon!

@MunkeeBacon There are a few bugs :P If you flip up into the edge of a square, you are stuck there, and you can press jump over and over and the sound will spam. I will probably make more levels, that make better use of the mechanic, and I may tweak the gravity so that the platforming is tighter.

adharris says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:18am

Solid execution.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Simple, but good :)

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:57am

Vert insteresting interpretation of the theme! Didn't come to any bugs, but the second level can be beat with only 1 jump, if you jump at the right time. lol
Wish there were more levels, but those that are there are enough to see the game's potential. Good job!

By the way, I see that you tried to run my game last week and it didn't work for you. I've detected and fixed some memory errors that were being ignored when debugging, so you're welcome to try running it again. Thanks!

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:51pm

@Tex Killer I realized that it could be cleared in one jump after I was finished XD Someone in their livestream did it one. I overstimated gravity.

I've just finsihed playing your game. Thanks for finding and fixing those errors! My thoughts will be on your project's page.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Nice game! Like mentioned above, it would have been nice if it would have had more levels. :)

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:23am

@Dining Philosopher
I keep forgetting to add more XD I've been caught up with working on other tiny projects, so at least people have the ability to create their own levels. I'll try to remember, and add a post-jam level update.

sephyka says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:49am

Very very short but I really like the inventive gameplay. It might be great with more levels. :)
Good entry.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:22am

Woefully short but the gameplay concept is very interesting and I do like the fact that you've added a level editor in some form for the game. You should definitely expand on this.

banana4life says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:25am

Nice game, reminds me of VVVVVV

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]