Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drink the Ink (Text Adventure)

by TheExGenesis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Drink the Ink is a game that connects the a dark world of text and a visual, mystical 2D world, about how a godly being writes the fate of a mortal.

Both worlds are connected by the Ink, thus the name.

The game is short, but the humour and mood make up for it.

IMPORTANT: Scroll through the text with the scrollwheel.

edit1: gamebreaking bugfix
edit2: typo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#60Audio3.74
#84Humor3.42
#146Graphics3.86
#194Mood3.46
#486Overall3.28
#668Fun2.91
#894Innovation2.69
#979Theme2.54

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07am

i like the visuals for this game, really nice feel!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Bleak but fun :) Love the visuals and Audio.

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Great idea the text and the animation, but actually it's not my kind of stuff.
Strangely everything work pretty well together song, text, animation.
It lack of some sound effects, but that a great text aventure.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11am

Nice art and music!

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17am

Great graphics and a wonderful soundtrack. As you said, way too short but it's humour and mood make it a fun experience

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Art and music were both superb. The story was fun (in an eerie, bleak way) and the humor was on point.

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:53am

that was pretty great! a nice, succinct experience. well put together!

Lizzip says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:42am

Thought i'd broken it when the screen went black, so had to play it again to make sure (turns out I had, it hadn't shown any text).

Great graphics and music!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:18pm

good game, has been delighting me music

ob6160 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:18pm

I found the art great along with the animation. One of the best text adventures I've seen yet!

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Great mood, graphics and audio.

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:40pm

This was a nice experience. The soundtrack carried it well to the end. I died. After having a wank and not finding Narnja.
I like the game - it knows what it's strong at. It doesn't need me to tell.

...
Played it twice - hoping for a different ending. Nope. No Luck.

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56pm

The first two games I scrabbled around desperately before giving in and drinking. On the third game, having realised the extent of my options, I closed the window on the game while my character was enjoying himself. That way I can imagine he's still there, hunched over happily for eternity...

Nice concept, great music and very strong atmosphere. I especially loved the personality you managed to inject into the scribe with those little animations.

runvs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:04pm

What sweet graphics and what a nice soundtrack! you really set the mood right and -- though i personally am not that much into text adventures -- this one was just great!

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Loved the text based adventure with the animation! Good use of humor and mood. Audio was entertaining :D

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:46am

bit weird that you have to scroll with the mouse wheel but select with the number keys. pretty short game but it was enjoyable, I like the connection with the theme and the disparity of what was being written and what was on the screen.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

loved the music in this submission, it went really well with your visual design (I've heard quite a few great tracks on a lot of entries this time round)

The game was a little short, but what you had worked well!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

DrInking leads to black screen. Then what?

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

First of all, let me thank everyone for the delightful comments ^^ Secondly, when you drink while you have other options left, you "fail". The real ending happens when you exhaust every way of escaping

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:37am

nice music

Crosstales says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Nice little game! Reminded me of the good old text-adventures ;-)

defacid says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Hah! That was an interesting presentation of a text game!

garygreen says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Great idea and well presented. The graphics and audio were a very nice touch.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]