Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Para & Lell

by lonewookie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Para & Lell: By Joseph Marks for Ludum Dare 30

A very simple game I created in a few hours for Ludum Dare 30. The theme was "Connected Worlds". Use the arrow keys to control the characters, and use the spacebar to switch between the two. I would have liked to do more with this, and I spend most of my free time on Sunday trying to implement some obstacles that ultimately got scratched in order to upload a working game. Hopefully the next game goes a little better.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2124Coolness10%

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17am

Really nice and simple game. Keep it up!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45am

Short, but a good use of the theme. I would like to see more levels, which is definitely a good thing.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35pm

You carried on, that's all that matters! Love to see what you'll create in the future!

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53am

Nice work!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Well done for carrying on... I probably wouldn't have! It's a nice idea, you should make a post-compo version

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Hoped to see more levels. One major gripe though - the pixel perfect fit of the characters in the corridors without also having them snap the right alignment would be murder in a longer game. I accidentally moved a character to the side first and it was impossible to get it to line up again, I had to refresh the page and start over.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Good effort. Music works well for the game.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Great innovation, a nice simple game. Good job!

phi says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:08am

Solid concept, intuitive design, nice music; you've got a good start here.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]