Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Superconnected World

by aDFP - Jam Entry

A side-scrolling shooter, set in a superconnected world.

WASD or cursors to move, Ctrl or LMB to fire. F10 toggles the screen effect.

This was a solo project. Screen effect is Painterly, by Generic Evil Business Ltd. SFX from various CC0 sources. All other work was mine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#395Graphics(Jam)3.36
#425Fun(Jam)2.96
#546Audio(Jam)2.50
#622Mood(Jam)2.60
#657Theme(Jam)2.30
#663Overall(Jam)2.76
#712Innovation(Jam)2.20
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:36am

Mac version doesn't run for me :(

aDFP says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53am

Ah crap, that sucks. I only have a PC here, so the Mac and Linux versions were just a case of build and hope for the best.

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

The Linux version works, but:
* The score is a bit hard to read
* I can't figure out a reason why I shouldn't just constantly shoot
* Is there any sort of ending?
* Sounds got annoying after a bit, but until then, they were pretty good
* Not very clear how it relates to the theme

Otherwise, it was a pretty fun game

~misson20000, voting on behalf of our team

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58am

Same here, won't launch on Mac OSX. No errors, nothing happens.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

I'll second that the score is a bit difficult to read. Loved the voxels otherwise. Also not sure how it connects to the theme, but it's a fun game to play nonetheless :)

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15am

Fun game. Animations are good and the explosions are great. GJ.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16am

A fun little game - I also enjoyed the voxel aesthetic. However there didn't seem to be a way to exit the game (from fullscreen mode), so I had to end the game from the task manager while the mouse was locked to the game.

aDFP says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:25am

Thanks for the comments!

I did have something in mind about battling a world-sized superconnected alien entity, which constantly reformed into different enemies, but I didn't have time to get everything I wanted into the game.

I also had a plan for 'assembler' enemies, which would take the debris and build mini-bosses. They'd always appear along with huge waves of enemies, so you'd be able to refrain from firing and 'stealth' your way through those sections, possibly with a mechanic where you could manoeuvre faster if you weren't shooting. Three days is too short a time to get ambitious though, and I'm glad I kept things simple.

It's been a really fun project to work on, so I'll probably develop it further (I'm dying to add a mouse-controlled drone) and keep uploading builds to itch.io (http://adfp.itch.io/superconnected-world)

aDFP says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27am

@darkshadow Thanks, that hadn't even occured to me (I always play LD games in windowed mode, if I can). I'll add that to the build on itch.io ASAP.

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35am

Game caused my PC to blue-screen when I tried to quit. Loved playing it whilst it worked.

aDFP says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:24am

@Vytheros Wow, thanks for letting me know. Unity's always been pretty reliable for me, but I obviously need to make a 'quit' button a priority. Cheers.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:23pm

REALLY love the self-assembling enemies and the enemy patterns are fun. Would love to see more of this!

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21pm

no music ruins it all :(

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39pm

FINALLY AN ENTRY THAT PROVIDES A LINUX EXECUTABLE! It's a fun game and the graphics are really cool, but it gets boring after a while. Would require some variety.

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Good graphics.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nothing happens when I run the OSX version.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

A fun shmup!

gnx says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:00am

Graphics and effects are cool, and actually feel thought out, rather than slapped on. Gameplay is a bit boring as the enemy patterns don't really get all that challenging even when the game goes on. Music would've suited this kind of game very well too.

Tosic says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Very interesting, but score is wayyy too hard to see, try using other kind of innovative numbers :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]