Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Hungry Overlords

by Polyducks - Jam Entry

The overlords demand better food! Scavenge other planets for new animals to add to your genetic recipe! Then sell the product to the overlord scum! Make lots of money, scavenge more animals, make more recipes, and try to appease their everchanging demands!

A game made for Ludum Dare 30 over three days by Piano Hands (programming) and Polyducks (music and graphics).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2124Coolness10%

Comments

zakchaos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Beautiful Presentation!
Brilliant to look at, great to listen to,
but a bit difficult to understand,
Looks like a great game!

Polyducks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:01am

Yes, I will agree with you that it's difficult to understand. I think if I had a rewrite I'd make the interface much simpler. In this case, where I was in art direction, I just really wanted to cram it full of neon. I my have got carried away.

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

yeah it was a bit tricky to get the hang of, but i love the retroness, especially the music.. That intro pic is awesome too

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:58am

I had trouble with the UI as well. However the art and the music were pretty sweet!

Also the concept is quite neat.

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Rather hard to get right, but I like the visuals.

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Same problem with the UI, it took me a bit of time to get it.
Otherwise, nice and original idea, especially loved the sound

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:50pm

I didn't quite get how to play it, I'm afraid. I couldn't really understand what it was that the overlords wanted to survive. Love the humor and the colourful minimalistic style though! The music helped create a nice atmosphere as well.

Crefossus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:35am

It needs more feedback for success/failure/population change. Could use a tutorial otherwise. Maybe have a pool of fish that you can drag from instead of arrows?

Manufacturing the creatures from outside the splicing window feels a little odd.

Beautiful art & music.

Mandraw says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Contrarly to what other said i really catched on fast on the UI, and had some really cool plays... it feels really like an oldie game , with the right amount of difficulty , reaaaly a good game , if I could vote(alas this time i didn't have time to participate...) This game would get rally good votes , less maybe the theme that reaaaly i dint feel ^^"

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Nice game, though its hard to get it into a minute. I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Hmt93jxkWGQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]