Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Back and forth

by ccglp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**********
UPDATE
************
Now working. I kill the intro screen and now all seems legit. (No other changes, so the source code remains the same)
******
Read the instructions.txt before playing.


Back and Forth is a little (little because it's short) game with different endings, and a five worlds gameplay. I wish you enjoy the game.
Run the game by double-clicking the .jar file , you will need java (probably you have it), Java 6-7-8 it's fine.

Soon I'll update with a Android Version.


**********
CONTROLS
**********
Arrow Keys : Movement
Spacebar//UP : Jump /Fly (with white)
Down : Fly down with white
No Controls: With black.
**********
DETAILS
***********

Back and Forth was made by me, Carlos Cortes, it's my second Ludum Dare entry, I tried to make an interesting gameplay and as you can see art isn't one of my strong points, but I tried to make it minimalistic and simple.
Music made in abundant-music.com

Say hi to me on
Twitter : @CCGLP or @CCGLP_DEV
Web : http://ccglp.itch.io/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#295Theme3.60
#482Audio2.81
#755Innovation2.89
#1079Overall2.57
#1121Fun2.15
#1188Graphics1.75
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

I got an exception (running windows 8.1):

Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: Couldn't load file: BackAndForthImage.png
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.Pixmap.<init>(Pixmap.java:140)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.glutils.FileTextureData.prepare(FileTextureData.java:64)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.Texture.load(Texture.java:130)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.Texture.<init>(Texture.java:121)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.Texture.<init>(Texture.java:100)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.Texture.<init>(Texture.java:92)
at com.ccglp.backnforth.IntroScreen.show(IntroScreen.java:41)
at com.badlogic.gdx.Game.setScreen(Game.java:61)
at com.ccglp.backnforth.Main_Handler.create(Main_Handler.java:11)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:136)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)
Caused by: com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: File not found: BackAndForthImage.png (Internal)
at com.badlogic.gdx.files.FileHandle.read(FileHandle.java:136)
at com.badlogic.gdx.files.FileHandle.readBytes(FileHandle.java:220)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.Pixmap.<init>(Pixmap.java:137)
... 10 more

ccglp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Seeems like compile eclipse troubles,I'll solve it tomorrow, thanks!

granut100 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53pm

The audio and concept were really good! Although there was some screen tearing.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Pretty fun game that I enjoyed. It's nicely woven together with a bit of replayability. Well done!

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Nice job! Pretty fun!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:58am

Nice, but I found the lack of instructions a bit frustrating, I don't know what to do with some of the "characters" (what I'm supposed to do with "black"? XD). Anyway, well done! :)

ccglp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:55am

White moves Black ;)

modbox says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:44pm

I kinda got it, it was confusing but the concept seemed quite innovative!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:45pm

It took me a minute to figure out how to play, but once I did it was fan! Good luck!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Aaaalright, apparently I've managed to get the best ending (if leading red to the red spot in upper left counts as such), although it was pretty confusing and I still don't really know how things work, except for the fact that leading black to black apparently alters the red's position. ^^"
Still, that was rather interesting and enjoyable entry, though the choice of colours was somewhat terrible; I know, minimalism and such, but using such bright colours next to each other (like blue against red against green) can hurt! >.<

frogcheese says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:00am

Got some problems running it on my Macbook - the screen shows for a split second, then somehow the graphics all bug out. Looks like The screen is abnormally zoomed in or something - if I move back and forth every now and then about half of the screen is covered by a moving rectangle. Guessing it's some kind of display problem for OS X.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Great music and great innovation. Keep up the good work!

tove says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:52am

Unfortunately this seems to not work as intended on a retina display; we had the same problem as frogcheese above. Good music, though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]